Utila Diving Center


Advertisement
Published: January 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We started our scuba diving class which consisted of watching videos and answering questions on what we learned. After a couple days of theory we got in the shallow part of the beach and had a series of skills we had to accomplish. This was more difficult than it should have been for me because once again I am a chicken when it comes to these things. The other two people in our class had colds and were not cleared by the doctor to dive so Dan and I had one on one attention which was nice. Marc took Dan and progressed and Maya stayed with me. She was so wonderful, patient and sympathetic. She told me she had a really difficult time at first as well and nearly quit because she was scared. She had a near drowning experience as a child and diving was a challenge at first for her. I originally got hung up on flooding my mask, we worked thru that but then I needed to take the mask off while under water and put it back on. I had to keep my eyes closed thru the process since I wear contacts and there would be a chance that I would loose my contacts. We ended the day with that task unfinished. I wasn't feeling good about it but Maya said hey you couldn't flood your mask and we got thru that so don't worry about it we'll do it tomorrow, you did good! She and Marc both praised me for not quitting and said I would be fine the next day after my brain processed it all. It's true there were aspects I found to be more comfortable with than I originally thought but time was not what I needed. I simply stressed out about the next day and felt exceedingly anxious. Dan had breased thru it all as usual and I wasn't feeling like anyone quite understood me even though Maya's compassion came close. I'm embarrassed to admit that the next morning at breakfast I broke down and cried. I felt the pressure of Dan and my instructors wanting and expecting me to succeed. Not only that I really wanted to dive, the underworld would clearly be amazing. As Marc went over all the skills we had to accomplish in the deeper part near the dock I had such an intense sinking feeling. When he was finished and said lets go at which point I uttered the words "I don't want to do this" Maya said come on, we have unfinished business from yesterday and took me into the shallow part. I was all geared up and slowly followed her with serious reservations that I was capable of completing all this. Somehow she walked me thru it all. She is magic, I honestly don't know how the rest of the afternoon unfolded. It's like a mother sneakily feeding their baby vegetables they really don't like! I walked out of the water almost in shock that we were done with what we needed to do for that day. The next day we went out on the boat for our first dive. I was nervous but not as anxious as I had been. Once under water I found that most things came quite natural to me and the skills were not so scary. Before I had jetted up to the surface for stupid things but now I had equalized my ears, I didn't want to go to the surface, I would have to go thru the equalization process again. Not only that I was much more relaxed and everything seemed simple now. Within minutes of my first dive all I could think of was how greatful I was for my instructors patience and the fact that I was now enjoying this amazing new world. That being said the first two days we dove, the water was rough and I was seasick on the rides out to the dive sights. When we had practiced jumping off the dock with our gear I was scared but on the boat I jumped off as soon as I could to be rid of the tipsy turny boat. I believe I felt seasick for about 72 hours, it was very unpleasant but the diving was worth it. We saw a huge seahorse, about 5 or 6 inches long, much longer than any other one I had seen prior to diving. Spotted moray eels, green morays, a huge crab, eagle rays, tiny squid and so many amazing fish, some of them look florescent! The coral and plant life is amazing as well. Finally our 3rd day of diving the water was calm and I wasn't sick for once!



We decided to do the advanced course which was only 5 dives plus our two free dives. The dives were drift diving, underwater navigation, night dive, deep water and buoyancy. The deep dive happened to be at a ship wreck which was pretty cool. It was a ship that was damaged in a hurricane in 1998, we swam in the cargo area and thru the cabin, very cool! We also cracked eggs on the bottom of our deep dive which was 30 meters, some yellow taled fish attacked us for the yoke, it was nuts! I thought my finger must have been bleeding but when I looked down it wasn't, they are ferocious though! The eggs are much harder to break down there and the yoke stays together, quite interesting. You also can't see the color red anymore.

I am so happy that we can dive in the future and I hope to dive regularly. I have no complaints whatsoever with UDC they are an amazing company and I was happy with all aspects. Words really can't say how encouraging Marc and Maya were thru the whole thing and Marc even told Dan he didn't get props because it was easy for him and that I got all the props because it was so difficult overcoming my fears. It was obvious that they really love diving and just want to get you thru the course so you can love it too! We met so many cool people from all over, diving uniting us all. Matt & Leigh (The Kiwis) were there as well so we got to hang out with them again which is always a pleasure. Although the experience had its highs and lows I am so glad we did it!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb