Dive bums


Advertisement
Published: June 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lake AtitlanLake AtitlanLake Atitlan

Great view of Atitlan from halfway up to the Indian Nose.
Not too much to report in this entry. I've been taking diving classes here, which has been occupying the majority of my time. The diving classes have been ok so far, although it is a little bit frustrating. We are spending a lot of time in the classroom and watching videos and stuff, and the only time we have spent in the water so far has been in shallow water, doing safety exercises. Because I've dived before in much deeper water, it's a little bit frustrating to start from the beginning again, although it is important.

Tomorrow, we get to move on to an actual open-water dive, which I'm really looking forward to. I've been looking forward to getting to see some of the dive sites here on Utila, which are supposed to be absolutely incredible.

I've noticed that Honduras seems to be quite a bit more diverse racially than Guatemala was. I don't believe I saw a single person of African descen t the entire time I was in Guatemala, but here, they seem to be a major component of the population. Along with, it seems, quite a few Europeans. It could just be the Carribean island effect,
View of the Indian Nose from San PedroView of the Indian Nose from San PedroView of the Indian Nose from San Pedro

There, you see it at the top?
though.

The food here on the islands seems to be quite a bit better so far than it was in Guatemala also. The food is around the same price, maybe a little bit more expensive, but the beer is actually quite a bit cheaper, around $1/beer, even at a bar. The Bay Islands are supposed to be a bit more expensive than the mainland too, because everything has to be brought in by supply boat.

It looks like I'm going to be here on Utila until Thursday, at which time I'm going to head to Nicaragua via bus. There's one place in Nicaragua, Granada, I want to see, then I'm going to head to San Jose, Costa Rica and do whatever I can there until I leave on the 5th.

Here are the pictures from San Pedro, I finally have my camera here. Enjoy.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

We finally made it.We finally made it.
We finally made it.

Phil, Barry, and I at the summit of the nose.
Curvas peligrosas.Curvas peligrosas.
Curvas peligrosas.

For the Spanish-impaired, that's "Dangerous Curves".
And here they are.And here they are.
And here they are.

When standing in the back of a pickup truck going dangerously fast around some curvas peligrosas, the first thing that came to mind was to take some pictures.
My hotel in ChiquimulaMy hotel in Chiquimula
My hotel in Chiquimula

Not bad for $2.75 a night.
The banana republicThe banana republic
The banana republic

Appropriately, this is one of the first things I saw upon crossing the border from Guatemala to Honduras.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb