The in between on Utila..


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Bay Islands » Utila
January 30th 2009
Published: January 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After spending most of our first month on the small bay island of Utila we are hoping to leave this coming friday, not this one but I hear there's another one coming around next week.. Life is slow here in the day and debaucherous in the evening. Which leaves both of us watching our pockets and looking forward to moving on. Checking the mail daily... but like most things go here I've came to find out...., it has been delayed because the airport has been closed for 3 days due to a big cocaine bust last tuesday.
Evidently it involved a possible plane crash, the burning of something unidentified on the only hill in town and a spectacle at the airport that sent most of the locals out there on their scooters to observe for most of the day. Fortunatly us gringos are out of the loop.
Spanish has been going spectacular, I really enjoy the language and I think I'm learning quickly, I hope to be able to work it out in practice once we get back on the mainland.

I have plenty of time here and find myself enjoying the basic activities of the day most, such as washing my laundry by hand on a wash board, going to the supermercado for frutas & verduras and cooking our cena at the little casa. I have had plenty of sun this last week and am entering full freckle potential. I go swimming in the ocean most days, read my book "Dreaming of Cuba" after finishing "On the Road" (yea. thats right I read books now) and study my spanish on one of the docks in town while Kyle fishes.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb