Near Death Experiences are Fun as Long as you get to tell the Story.....


Advertisement
Published: August 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

KeysKeysKeys

This is part of the island the Sun Jam was on a couple days before. Its a great place to come out and anchor and have a few.
Two weeks in Honduras, Actually on the Bay Islands off the coast of Honduras and Mostly on a little island called Utila. Most people dont know this as a big tourist destination yet, but it rivals and surpasses most better known destinations in the carribean and is now really starting to get put on the map. This isnt close to my first trip to this part of the globe, but it was sure my most memorable. A couple months ago I was able to round up a couple good friends Alex and Paul to join me on what I said would be an amazing experience of Rafting, Diving, Women, Fishing, Sun and lots of partying. Im pretty sure we got everything we expected and more.
We started our journey meeting up in San Perdro Sula Honduras and of everything seemed to be going great. That was until my kitesurfing gear never quite made in to the baggage claim. After a lot of insurance from the Delta people (that I realized was a bunch of shit) telling me that my beg would be in Utila the next day, I decided it wasnt worth the breath and Im better off praying to god
Snagging SnapperSnagging SnapperSnagging Snapper

These were a couple of local boys we net at the dive shop. They were trying to snag fish from the dock and really suprised me when they got this one.
that my bags somehow reach me. We then took off from there in a little 20 seater over to the coast of Honduras to a nice town called La Ceiba. We had plans of hitting the town and going on a whitewater rafting excursion in the morning up in the rain forest. The nightlife was pretty dull that night and we pretty much went home after dinner. Paul and I did get a taste of what was to come in the trip as Alex bravely approached a group of travelers in the restaurant and just pulled up a chair right at there table. So we got up the next morning and got on this russian military bus and headed to the jungle. There was a nice lodge perched in the rain forest right beside the Rio Cangreal. There happend to be a group from Colorado College there doing a creative writing class. I wish we had so called "creative writing classes" like that at Ohio State. What a college experience. So we had a little snack and then hit the river with a group of about 10. First we hiked up the river and did a bunch of cliff jumping
I Swear We Did Not Go in ThereI Swear We Did Not Go in ThereI Swear We Did Not Go in There

We thought this place was closed and as soon as we walked by the lights mysteriously came on and there was a girl dancing on stage and 3 more chasing us down outside. Well worth a pic for the memories
up to 30 ft and then floated down through the rapids. This was actually better than the rafting was. I wish there was some a little higher, but these were fine. There was a kid with us that was 9 and he was doing everything we were doing. Tough little sucker. The river wasnt to high this time of year, but we did hit one rapid that I would consider a class 4 with a 6 ft drop. Unfortunatly we didnt flip the boat, but Alex did fall out on purpose a few times.
At around noon we headed for the ferry that would take us out to Utila. This is the cheapest method to get over there, but if its windy you really get your moneys worth. This was for sure one of those days. The second we got outside the harbor we were hit with a huge wave that soaked half the boat and I knew we were in for a treat the next couple hours. For the forst while I was fine. The waves were huge, but my I pod seemed to ease my head. Then once the barf bags started coming out and everyone around was
Rio CangrealRio CangrealRio Cangreal

This is a shot of the lower stretches of the river we rafted down. We lost all of the good pictures with by buddies camera that got stolen.
either sick or fighting the sea to the best of there ability I started to lose it. I knew if I stayed seated with the group I was done for, so I gave my bags to a buddy and went to one of the wettest part of the boats and let the waves hit me head on for the next 45 min. Ill admit it wasnt an ideal situation, but it kept me from getting sick and that was the goal. Alex tried a similar tactic, but towards the end a girl that was seated next two him caught him off guard and covered him with her lunch. Ewwwe not
cool.
So we made it safely and were finally on Utila all in one piece and only missing a bag of luggage. Really bummed me out though because the wind was howling and just my luck the day I got my bag the wind was calm the rest of the trip.
At the docks we had a friend there to pick up up and bring us down the Hotel Trudy. I stay at the same place everytime we go and its right across the street from the mayors house Alton,
Our BoatOur BoatOur Boat

Spent a lot of time in this baby cruising the island and having a couple beverages.
who is a great friend so it works out well.
The next four days fell into a blur and the same routine up until the big party we came for Sun Jam. This time of year the island was packed so every night we were hitting the bar scene and meeting a bunch of backpackers. During the day we would go out in my buddys boat and anchor at the keys on the west end and just hang out, have a couple brews, and try and meet some girls. The first day we picked up four girls from Slovenia, which Im not sure Ive ever heard of before. Of course we just sent Alex out after them and minutes later they were in the boat. We did some snorkeling that day and showed my buddies where some of the property we own is. This area of the island is really amazing and if the prettiest place in the carribean I have ever been. I could just sit there for hours and stare at the contrasting blues of the ocean and it comes in and out of the reefs and sand bars. One of the days the wind seemed to be
Late Night. Turc, Alex, and MeLate Night. Turc, Alex, and MeLate Night. Turc, Alex, and Me

Can you guess who the drunkest one in this picture is
enough to try kitesurfing around the keys so I got all set up and gave it a go. The ind was gusty, but good enough to get going. The only problem was I couldnt keep up wind so everytime I went out and back I was another hundred yards from the guys down wind. At this point I realized I never told them that I wouldnt be able to make it back to where they were and at some point they would need to come get me. After a face plant in the coral about 200 yards from them I figured I needed help, but I soon realized that they couldnt hear a thing I said. I really had no way of getting to land eitherand the wind was blowing steady into the open sea. My chance to safety was getting back up on the board and heading a mile across the bay and hoping I can stay upwind enough to hit the shore. I ended up having a wonderful, but intense ride over there and landed safely on the bank. About a hour later I was finally rescued by the crew. They just thought I was taking a hot
Dinner TimeDinner TimeDinner Time

Had some great meals before hitting the town at this place. The pirata bar. These other guys were from El Salvador and came out with us this night.
lap around the island. Not quite. The only neg that I had about these few days was the techno music. Since this party on sat. was a rave al the music in the bars leading up to it was techno music. I swear I heard the same song like 300 times, but people tell me they were all different. Thank god we had plenty of other distractions to keep us company or I couldnt take it. Especially since Im more of a ballroom dancer in my later years.
As I was trying to keep up with my running during the week I found that my sense of direction was not as keen as I once thought. I embarked on a 6 mile run on a loop that I have been on many times around a chunk of the island. About 4 miles in the road split off in some ways I was not to sure of so I just kept on with one I assumed was right. Well the road seemed to get rougher and rougher and then smaller to the point in was a machete hacked trail through the jungle. I figured that if I just kept on I
Men BewareMen BewareMen Beware

Im not sure if this is a good thing or a bad one.
would come into the right road in a bit. No sir. I ended up hiking through the jungle for about 45 min and finally found my way to the ocean where I figured I could walk on the coral shore and get back to the road. Well I didnt realize that this coral shore was a maze of razor sharp coral formations with 3 ft crevices every couple feet. Seriously if I fell one time I would have some major cuts on my body and some serious problems. I hap skotched across this stuff for about a mile which took me about a hour and ruined my brand new running shoes by shredding the bottoms. My 45 min run turned into 2 and a half hours and when I got back my buddies were hammered had plenty of great stories to brighten my mood.
Before we knew it Saturday was upon us and the Sun Jam was finally here. The only problem was the rain was at a constant down pour all morning and I was thinking they better change the name of this rave. Luckly as we got closer to dark the rain left us dry and cool. Almost
Love at First SightLove at First SightLove at First Sight

My buddy Paul met this girl that didnt speak andy english and he didnt speak spanish. Long story short before the night was out she was trying to catch the plane back to Canada with him.
a perfect temp for an all night party on a deserted island. Around 7 we took a boat ride to the island along with about 1500 other partiers to see what was instore for us at this all night event. To say the least this night was a complete gong show and I cant remember when I have had more fun. We partied until the sun came up and then Alton had to pick us up at 5 in the morning so Alex could catch the 620 ferry. Oh yeah and I forgot to mention that Alex wore a American Flag thong most of the night. He was a hit let me tell you. Hes such a bad influence on me... So Alex took off in the morning and Paul and I went to sleep. Didnt d much of anything that day except have a great meal at the mango inn. They cook there pizza in a giant clay oven and it cant be beat. I always over eat there. Turc took off early the next morning and I was on my own. For the next few days I did a lot of fishing with Alton and had a few
Tranquilla BarTranquilla BarTranquilla Bar

This is the scene out on the dance floor over the water and one of the bars.
great dives. I landed a few bonefish on the trip and one tarpon. The diving was great, but Ive seen most of it before. That was until I came up from my last dive and they were hurrying us into the boat saying they just saw 70 dolphins. Now swimming with dolphins has been one of those life long dreams for me so I was jacked. Once we were all in the boat we headed out towards them and they were on the boat in seconds jumping and swimming right under the hull. We could almost touch them. Soon after the captain slowed down and gave us the signal to jump in. He then drove the boat around us in circles and the dolphins came right by us just like clockwork. It was so amazing hearing the noises they make under water. Another dream fufilled. I only have a few thousand more now.
The next day it was time to fly over to Roatan for a couple meetings I had. I chartered a little Cessna 172 for the ride over and things got very interesting. This was a small plane that only held my baggage and me. I was seated
Not me this timeNot me this timeNot me this time

Were all getting ready for the Sun Jam. Thats the Mayor of Utila on the right. He was loving the thong.
right next to the pilot and the flight was pretty fun for the most part. Well until the last 5 minutes that is. At first when the engine started going on and off I assumed that maybe he was just slowing down, I could see the runway up ahead, he must be slowing down. On and off, on and off, on and off. After a minute of this I started to suspect something was seriously wrong. I tried to refrain from looking at the pilot, because I knew I would see the answer in his face. As I looked to the left I was him sweating like hell speaking way to fast into the radio. May Day May Day May Day. He tried to say it quiet enough that I wouldnt hear. (Just kidding he never said May Day) But he might as well have. He was scared and I could see it. I never said a word to the guy and let him do his thing. I dont think Ive ever been more focused on a runway in my life. For future reference landings are really soft when your cruising at 10 MPH. We made it and I was
Cloudy, Cool, and PerfectCloudy, Cool, and PerfectCloudy, Cool, and Perfect

This is a shot of the entry to the Sun Jam. They set all this up the day before on this island. The weather wasnt the best, but it didnt affect the turnout at all. There were around 1500 people from dusk until dawn on this island.
alive. What a rush. He then told me it was a problem with the fuel line and he has never had that happen in 10 years of flying. Lucky me. I posed the question what if that happend if we were farther out. "I would of been looking for a good beach to land on" Well thats reassuring. At least he had a plan. Roatan was pretty uneventful. I met with a couple people about our land on Utila and then visited a friend that owns one of the largest chunks or property on the island. He took my to his land and showed me some of the progress he is making on a development. This project is going to be amazing when its done. This was the type of stuff I dream about doing someday.
Turned out to be a great adventure with some great friends over the past couple weeks. One of the main points of this trip was for me to evaluate the prospect of moving to Utila to work with our property over the winter and maybe longer. I cant say Ive made my decision yet, but he odds are rising. If I do your all
Pool PartnersPool PartnersPool Partners

Couple of parrots up in the jungle lodge before we went rafting were pretty interested in this game of pool. I tried to pet them and almost got bit as they chased me around the deck.
willing to come visit me anytime you want. Ill bet that young or old youlll have the trip of a lifetime. If you want to se what this Utila is all about go to www.aboututila.com Until next time........

Sorry about the lack of good pics on this one. We had a couple hundred more that got stolen with Alex's camera.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Russian Army VehicleRussian Army Vehicle
Russian Army Vehicle

Well at least I knew we were protected if anyone shot at the vehicle. This is what picked us up to bring us to the rainforest for rafting.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb