Certified


Advertisement
Published: May 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello again,

I have travelled to Honduras, all the way from Belize. Hooray for me. I am actually coming to the end of my stay on the island of Utila, but it has taken me untill now to update the blog because I have been ever so busy you see!

In between the obvious socializing-type-stuff, I have been learning to drive. In fact I have passed all my exams (aimed at 10 year olds I am sure), and dived to a depth of 19.5 meters. Thats reasonably deep. Admitedly there was no graduation cerimony, no gowns, silly hats or long goodbyes, but upon arrival home I will be greeted not only but the relieved faces of my friends and family, but also a plastic card that will allow me to drive anywhere in the world. True I havent saved any babies, rebuilt any houses or singled handedly saved the rainforests, but I feel like I have achieved something allthesame.

It was the national day for Norway on Thursday. That was also the dive centers big weekly party event. It was also The day I finnished diving. It was also the night before the day when I began cursing all of the above. Needless to say I drank my own body weight in rum and coke, as did everyone else. I enjoyed barbiqued food and honest conversation with my friends. That was untill I decided it would be nice to say happy national day to a few of the Norwegens. I asked Jahn what the appropriate phrase was and set about my business. The business failed quickly, the market crashed, the the research was inacurate... much to the delight of Jahn I had just announced to a rather pretty girl, in the most heartiest of ways "nice boobs"! A small part of me died in that moment as her face turned from glee to fury and Jahn became ever more cripple by his own hysterics. Sure
I can laugh about it now, but I think Jahn and I have a lot of growing to do.

A couple of days ago I experienced my first tropical storm. It was BIG! Luckily I was safely tucked into a bar sipping coffee with Jahn and Theresa, but outside the streets flooded (partly due to the very poor drainage system they have installed here, which was carely considering the climate). I must say it was rather impressive and my friends had to practically hold me down to stop me from running around in the down pour and catching the sniffles. Sadly I have caught the sniffles. I am fine (Mum and Dad) largely because everyone I have met so far seems to be in the medical profession, so I have landed good company in the respect.

On Monday I will be shifting out of this town and dragging myself all the way to Guatamala where I intend on doing lots of worthy things that will make you all very proud! I have been networking you see. More on that in the next edition. Now I am off to play volley ball, but not before eating something sizable like a large Hondurian dog, of which there are many. All the best back at home, miss you all.

D x

Advertisement



28th May 2007

Excellent, congratulations with the diving, that's great news. Am really pleased you have some travelling companions (even if they are a bit childish with the silly Swedish phrases) and I am SO JEALOUS of you witnessing that storm! I saw one in South Africa and it blew me away. Not literally though. I hope things go well in Guatemala and please do let us know you're ok when you are next able to, because I'll be worrying! Well done thus far, I would say I was really proud of you were it not so patronising :) miss you Dave! x x x
30th May 2007

Honduras travel articles
Dear Dave: Having read a recent installment to your blog, I am interested in your insights into Honduras, the places to go and the interesting and entertaining things to see and do while there. My reason for this is that I am the new North American publicity representative for the Honduras Institute of Tourism. In this role I am in constant contact with travel writers, travel editors and broadcast news feature producers to encourage them to develop travel features on the “sustainable geo-travel” opportunities in Honduras. Travel is so broadening, breaking down barriers between cultures, providing eye opening and life altering experiences, while also bringing hard currency into needy communities. Since Honduras’ tourism product has never had public relations representation in the North American marketplace before – and therefore very little publicity in mainstream media outlets -- I feel that travel magazines, newspaper travel sections and even TV and radio will be interested in covering the Honduras travel story. Which brings me to you… Should a bonafide travel writer be interested in securing first-person comments on favorite vacation activities to enjoy when in Honduras, would you be willing to be interviewed for the article? And, do you have any accompanying digital photography you would be willing to share? I can’t guarantee if, or when, a journalist might want to contact you. However, I believe if I pitch them on “conversing” with someone who has visited, worked, or conducted mission work in Honduras, it might pique some interest. On behalf of the Honduras Institute of Tourism, I thank you for your consideration of this request. Sincerely, Mary Jane Kolassa Senior Vice President, Public Relations YPB&R Yesawich, Pepperdine, Brown & Russell 423 South Keller Road, Suite 100 Orlando, FL 32810 P: 407.838.1803 F: 407.875.1115 E: maryjane.kolassa@ypbr.com W: http://www.ypbr.com

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb