Pat - Diving


Advertisement
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys,

So I know were pretty horrible at adding to this page but yeah...were in the bay islands in honduras. I'm here with Jay and Richard and pretty much all were doing is going out on boats and, well, diving.

This place is incredible. You can get a dive package of 10 dives for 150$ US!!! 15$ a dive! It’s insane. All the courses here are super cheep too, actually it’s suppose to be the cheapest place in the world to dive and get certificates. You’d think that the shops and instructors would be pretty shady for that price but it’s not. The places are just as professional as the other one’s i’ve seen (not that I’ve seen tons but ya know). Get this, when you pay to get your masters dive certificate (750$, in montreal it’s 800$) you get to dive for free FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE!!!!! I’m really thinking I’m going to do it here, I’m starting my rescue diver on Sunday when jay leaves and then maybe I’ll do my masters. Thing is that you need 60 dives to get it and I’ve got about 40, but yeah, you can do 5 dives in a day if you want so it shouldn’t be too hard to get to 60.

Ok ok, so yesterday we were driving from one dive site to another when we came upon a pod of dolphins going around the boat, like a couple meters away from us. So yeah, I was the second person to jump in the water and like right below me, probably about 5 meters down were 4 dolphins like hovering side by side in formation. Then, I hear everyone on the boat yelling at me to look behind me. When I turned around there were 4 dolphins on the surface coming right at me. One dolphin went to my left and the others on my right, but they were all less than 2 meters from me. The two right beside me I could have touched!!! It was incredible!!! man oh man. It was really cool too because one of the dolphins swam with us for about a half hour, apparently it is very very uncommon for them to stay around for so long, let alone swimming and playing with us…

Well that's all for now, i'm off to try and find a whale shark, they spotted one this morning so hopefully we'll find another! I told myself i'm not leaving this island unless i see one....haha

later guys, i'll add pics when the net is cheeper and faster

Pat


Advertisement



16th March 2007

I had an experience like yours!!!
With dolphins!!! It's pretty accelerating. The dolphins, in my case, were trying to find out what we're. There some little ones with their mothers. I understand what you're saying. I marked me as well. Don't blame you for the exciment! Here I'm adding a pic of the ones I encountered so close. Good luck, Pat!! Enjoy your time in beautiful Utila!!! S
20th March 2007

Ahhhhh!!!!SOOO Jealous!!!! I loved the diving in Utila...didn't do too much in Roatan, but I'm sure it's awesome too....Good luck finding those Whale Sharks. Have a thought for Dom and I when you do!!! By the way, any chance you guys will be in panama in April?

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb