Honduras


Advertisement
Published: April 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Roatan SunsetRoatan SunsetRoatan Sunset

Sunset from the Westend
I got the first bus out of Placencia to Dangriga, which takes just under 2 very bumpy hours. The bus driver was waving and hooting his horn at all the people he knew down the roads (apparently just about everyone!!). The boat was meant to leave at about 9ish .. but in the end we didn't leave Belize till about 11am. The boat was small and had less than 20 people on board. All was going fine .. I was going to say smoothly .. but it wasn't that smooth, when a bolt came out of the engine and they had to hold onto the engine to prevent it going overboard. We sat in choppy seas for 30 minutes while they fixed the problem .. getting tossed from side to side. By the time that they had reattached the engine most people had been sick .. nice! We didn't end up arriving into Puerto Cortes in Honduras till after 3pm.

I met a group of English girls on the boat and have been travelling with them since. We got an open top truck from Puerto Cortes to San Pedro Sula, which is about an hour away. It started raining on
Roatan SunsetRoatan SunsetRoatan Sunset

Sunset from the Westend
route, so we got nice and wet, and arrived in San Pedro Sula totally exhausted after a hard days travelling. We decided we couldn't cope with another journey that day, so stayed in San Pedro for the night, andtook the bus at 8 the following morning for La Ceiba.

The bus from San Pedro Sula to La Ceiba took 3 hours. We were hoping to get the boat straight over to Roatan, but arrived at just after 11am to find that the morning boat was at 10am (not 11.30am as the guide book had said), so we had to wait till 4pm for the next boat over there. We went into town for some lunch and to get some money. Amazingly the boat left exactly on time .. and we arrived in Roatan just before 6pm.

The weather coming over was pretty shitty and I hoped that it would improve the next day. Luckily it did, so I've had 2 beautiful days on Roatan. I'm staying in a place called West End .. which unsurprisingly is at the West of the island and gets incredible sunsets.

Yesterday I moved into a dive resort, and was planning to
RoatanRoatanRoatan

Katy, Chiara & Hanna-Gael
spend the next 3 or 4 days doing 3 dives a day. The deal with the place I'm staying which is called Sueno Del Mar, is great .. about US$80 for a beachfront room and 3 dives a day. This would all be great .. unfortunately a tropical storm blew in last night .. so no chance of diving today .. the seas are really rough .. and probably the visibility will be rubbish for the next few days until they have cleared after the storm. So right now I'm not sure if I'm staying here for a few more days or another week .. I suppose it depends on the weather. It is a really nice island though and I could quite happily stay here for a few weeks. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the people are friendly. The beaches are nice and the water is crystal clear. I'm just going to see what happens with the weather over the next few days.

I ended up staying in Roatan for a week. The tropical storm lasted a couple of days then the weather was pretty changeable after that. The diving was OK .. not the best I´ve
RoatanRoatanRoatan

Me & the girls
ever done .. but I saw a nurse shark, turtles and an eagle ray.

I met 3 English girls on the way from Belize to Honduras and spent the week hanging out with them. A lot of time was spent swinging in my hammock as the rain pelted down and reading a book a day.

I decided after the journey to Roatan, that I´d splash out and fly to Guatemala and save myself a couple of days travelling. The flight was $230 and went via San Salvador, taking just over 3 hours. I thought this was a good plan .. little did I know that TACA the airline would then lose my bag for the next 5 days!! Nightmare!







Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb