on Leaving Honduras


Advertisement
Published: July 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Current troubles and Central American passions during coups being well known for exploding, my tour group decided to skip going to Copan and get the heck out of Honduras. We were on Utila enjoying some diving and relaxing after sneaking out of the capital, Tegucigalpa, only about an hour before the roads were blockaded. Our tour leader thought he could get us back onto the mainland and to San Pedro Sula and out via a flight to Guatemala City. As the previous night he had stated going to the mainland was NOT a good idea, Corinne and I (a tour member from Switzerland) decided to head for Roatan and fly directly to the good ole U.S. of A. She managed to snag the very last ticket on the Thursday flight. that's what I get for being nice and waiting for her to get hers before I booked. So I got a Friday flight.
Wind was rising on Wednesday so our boat man says we need to hit the water to get to Roatan. I NEVER, EVER want to cross the open ocean out of sight of all land in a small boat cutting through 5-6 foot seas with a heavy chop. OK, in retrospect, it wasn't that bad to what it could have been but I was battered and salt crusted by the time we rounded Roatan and found the harbor he wanted.
Hit the airport at 8 a.m. on Thursday. Continental didn't get there until 9:30! I begged to be put on a standby list. The manager didn't want to do it. Said the flight was oversold by 2 people and 3 people would have to cancel for me to get on the flight and that rarely happened. I persisted and he put me on. Check back at noon! Corinne goes through security at 11 and I am stuck watching the clock while trying not to look at the line of people in front of Continental's counter.
Finally I go over to the counter at 11:45 as there are no more people in line. I am told there are 5 people yet to check in, one cancelled! I only need 2 more people to drop out or get stuck somewhere else. I have 20 minutes now to wait before he can officially give me the seat.
A couple comes up to the counter! No, it's ok, they were already checked in. A lady comes through the door with her son dragging her baggage behind her! whew, only she is flying. If two more people come, I've lost the seat. 6 minutes to go and one person comes running in to get her seat. ONE SEAT LEFT. 3 minutes to go and I see a taxi pull up to the curb with one person in the back. NO other airlines are checking in today. 2 minutes to go. I say, IF someone stands in the door when the time is up, I still get the seat, right, pleadingly. The manager is enjoying chiming out how many minutes are left as I have been pacing back and forth in front of the counter for the last 5. Finally he says 1 minute to go. I say, The Longest Minute of my Life. As he hands me my boarding pass, he chuckles and says, Or the shortest! I'm away and out of Honduras before the president returns with muscle and exploding passions! As I board the plane, I turn and wave to the soldier standing on the roof of the airport. He waves back.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb