Roatan bay islands honduras was awful service


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

From the time I landed at the airport to the low quality expensive fishing and snorkeling tours, not to mention the double charging restauraunts I was not happy with this so called tropical resort. The only place I found true Honduras and excellent food and snorkeing was a little island called Helene off of Roatan. A really nice christian man named Frank took me in and rented me a cozy cabin for a great price and took me spear diving in a homemade canoe. Now this was paradise, this other guy named Darcy showed me around the place. He was like a guide showing me a cool cave with pools of water at the bottom. In this cave Mitchell Hedges found a genuine Crystal Skull! I saw a show on the sci fi channel about Mitchell Hedges and the crystal skulls. Nearly an hour of the show was dedicated to Helene and the mysterious treasures that have been found there and some still yet to be found. A rock just 100 yards off the the island is a site where a man found an actual treasure chest full of gold. He was gone the next day and gave one man on the island a gold coin. He was never seen again. Plus the ancient indian grounds where you can still find broken clay pots and sometimes if you dig carefully you can get a whole pot not broken! They call these artifacts yabba ding ding. Here is what Roatan was for me, let me give some examples. An Italian restauraunt in West End tried to charge us $457 for a meal with about eight people. The real price was about $228, so they tried to double the charge and see if we didnt notice. We contested it and it took us 30 minutes of arguing before we got charged the right amount. Another restauraunt in Coxen Hole was the worst service and most unsanitary buffet I had ever seen. At another restauraunt I asked them if you can wash your hands or go to the bathroom and they looked at me like I was crazy. Then I got a sprite that had no carbonation and was half water. I asked for another and she just ignored me. Customs at the airport was another story. His name is Jose, do not trust him. Car rental at the airport was another scam. I told him he overcharged me but he had already charged my card and said he couldnt get my money back. I said this was wrong, he just looked at me and laughed, screw this place I am not supporting it. But if you want to go to Helene just get ready to ruff it a little and be on the adventurous side. Go to Oakridge early by ten oclock or so and ask people who is going to Helene. If you go with other people on the boat they shouldnt charge more than 100 or 200 limpiras at the most. Good luck and write me if you have any questions,

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb