The Much Needed Day at the Beach . . .


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Bay Islands » Roatán
September 9th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I’d considered going diving today. But I’ve just been getting so tired so easily. And while I find diving to be mentally rejuvenating, physically it drains me. And as much as I love it, the more I plan my trip to South Africa, the more aware I am that I need to keep saving my money. So I decided against diving.

Instead, I decided to make a day at the beach. Even with the cost to the taxi, it’s not that expensive and totally worth it. I had myself a nice sleep in. Got ready to go. Took a taxi.

And there I was. On the island of Roatan, off the coast of Honduras. At West Bay Beach. Lying on the soft sand, under the brilliant sunshine.


It was such a lovely day. I swam in the ocean. I laid on the beach and soaked up that glorious sun. Strolled along the water and sipped a strawberry smoothie. Bought a pair of coconut earrings (to replace the last pair).

And I snorkeled. I could snorkel right off the beach! I saw some interesting coral. And just when I was about to give up on seeing fish, I was suddenly surrounded. Sometimes I wish I knew the names of the different types of fish, just so I could explain what I see out there. But I don’t seem to have the memory for it. And really, most other people don’t know fish names either, so me naming them would only help some people. But there were a lot. And different kinds. Types I’m used to seeing out there now. So it kind of feels like I’m visiting old friends when I see them again.

It was so nice to be out in the water. I love swimming in the sea. And it was so good to be on the beach. I’ve grown accustomed to being there. I miss it when I’m home.

Today was exactly the sort of day I’d yearned for, back when I was at camp, sitting in Jordi’s room, reading the email asking me to do this month on the Glory. So I’m very happy with today. And I’m determined to get at least one more beach day while I’m still here.

There’s 10 more days left for me on the Glory. I really like this mini-contract here. It really is just what I need right now. But I’m excited about when I get back home too. Really looking forward to seeing family. Really excited to see Kristin and meet Cole. I want to spend some time in Toronto and catch up with everyone there. I just want to reconnect with everyone back home.

But for now, there’s 10 more days of cruising and islands to enjoy. And I will.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb