May 23


Advertisement
Published: May 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Just came from church. Team voted to attend an English speaking church here. I actually was grateful, because the original job description had indicated I would be responsible for 4 worship services, which struck fear into my heart. Reprieved by God’s mercy! The church was within a compound about 20 minutes drive, named Port-au-Prince Fellowship. It is a small building with fans strategically placed around the room, mostly wooden benches and folding chairs set up in the very back. It was packed by the time the service started at 9:40 (a little late). Most of congregation was Haitian with a smattering of whites and our team of course. I had been filled in about the pastor last night by my roommate. She indicated he had come in the 80’s, a hippy from Boston, who intended to hike through Haiti, but met the pastor of this church and stayed. He has maintained long curly hair and still has a slight Boston accent.

Church began with a live praise band consisting of drum, keyboard, congos, sax, 3 guitars with 6 young ladies and 3 young men singers. Singing began with Blessed Be The Name of the Lord in Creole/Calypso style. Certainly roused us up for worship! In English, we sang Heart of Worship, Draw Me Close to You, Once Again and ended with Holy Spirit Rain Down in French, which sounded so hauntingly beautiful. Some of the lyrics meant something so much different to me in the light of where I was, and what I had witnessed over the last few days. Interesting to me how different my perspective was. Because it is Pentecost Sunday, the sermon was on Acts 2 and the infilling of the Holy Spirit. However, the message centered on ‘Waiting Well’. For example, waiting quietly, as in Ps 62, waiting actively as when Jesus asked His disciples to ‘watch with me and pray’, o wait with hope, to be ready; and as in Ps 27:14 - to wait patiently, with bravery and courage. God is in the waiting (and Haiti is in the waiting).

There was a time for sharing and a lady doctor asked for prayer for a teenager in the field hospital with serious injuries and now developing a serious infection. There was corporate prayer for her healing. There was also a time for prayer of confession and infilling, with quiet music. The service ended with a rousing calypso rendition of Oh Happy Day in English. I felt right at home there, it reminded me so much of Glad Tidings, whose members are sheltering me with their prayers.
My roommate has spent the day at the S.A. compound. Can’t wait to hear her stories about the day with those she loves so much. I’m relaxing and enjoying the tropical surroundings. Thank you to all who are praying for this experience. May God Bless you all today.

Image of the day: This morning on the way to church, saw literally hundreds of Haitians in their Sunday best, walking along the rubbled streets, Bibles in hand, heading to their church. God is definitely at work here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb