Lago de Atitlan


Advertisement
Published: October 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lago de AtitlanLago de AtitlanLago de Atitlan

My irish eyes were beaming...A Volcana rimmed lake!!!
Heh,
Hope everyone is great. its been a week since I posted last I think so I,m just going to lash into it! I was in Antigua until Monday. I would have left sooner but I had to wait for the guitar shop to open. Well I bought a guitar and straight away, once I got back to my hotel, met and american dude who hought me some blue scales! He brought me into the local market which is huge and where you can buy anything. I got a pound of the best strawberries for less than a euro. They were selling anthing from fruit, veg, fish, meat, little resturants inside where you could eat for nothing. I saw dead crocadile for sale, although I felt sorry for the croc.

This was Monday and Tuesday I was heading for lago de Atitlan, A massive lake surrounded with mountains and with 3 massive volcanos looming over it. Each one is over 3000m. It has a good few towns scattered around its shores and built up into the foothill of the volcanos, easily accessable by the passenger speed boats that run like clock work.

So I headed of with some
I smell rain!I smell rain!I smell rain!

You could see the rain coming to get you, but sun or no sun it still is amazing.
sound advice from the dude to go to San Marcos which is a quieter village on the lake. I got a shuttle mini bus with other backpackers to Panajahel on the lake, which is the most visited town and 3 hours from Antigua through the mountains. The drive was cool with small roads winding up and down and around the mountains. Lots of greenery and farmers working the fields that scatter the valleys and mountainside. We eventually got there and what a sight!(ill stick pictures up tomorrow) The lake opened oút with one massive volcano...a volcano, ha, looming over it as we came down the valley! I just got straight of the bus and got on a boat to San Marcos.

What a place. It basically a little wooden dock that comes on to the shore. Then its about 200 meters up through forest to the village. The most interesting part is the forest, Theres big trees, small trees, banana trees, orange tress, corn and a scattering of buildings and basically it looks like a tropical forest! 2 paths run up to the village from the shore with other dirt paths inthesecting them all around the place. This place
Taxi!Taxi!Taxi!

Docks...the gateways to the lake!
is like a centre for holistic healing- Yoga, massages, meditation and dudes! The lake is perfect to swim in and very clear and warm!! You can get on to a path that goes up and along the rock face through tress and bushes that runs on from the beach. Theres a 40 foot rock jump, from the water it looks like someone is just running out of the forest and jumping off! Theres also a flat slab of rock that´s about 20 foot. The food is unbelievable, mostly vegetarian, as its always fresh and cooked by local women who a hired by the Americans who came here, felt a spiritual vibe and never left. I cant blame them althought they are fairly away with the faires. I had pancakes with melon, banana, pineapple, yoghurt and honey for breakfast! It was unreal! I go swimming every day and today I was kayaking around the lake. 3 spanish people turn up yesterday and the guy, Hector looks like a rasta and plays the guitar like you wouldnt believe. We had some session last night,2 guitars, 4 Americans, 3 Irish, 3 Spanish, 2 Dutch,1 English, 1 Swiss, 1 Canadian, 1 Mayan and a
A jump with a view!A jump with a view!A jump with a view!

Where we swam alot! This was taken from a 40 foot cliff jump in Sam Marco! I was lucky I left!
few more! I am doing Spanish lessons here so will probably stay another week. hello Mother! I will ring you as soon as possible, as soon as I can get to another town where its cheaper to call. Possibly tomorrow or monday. Thats all for now, I left out a load because this place is closing so Ill throw another one up tomorrow, and some pics, to polish it off!!! Life is mighty and hope everyone is flying!.......VOLCANOS!!!!!! and banditos, gotta watch out for them fellas

Adios
Daithi


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

San MarcosSan Marcos
San Marcos

In those trees, thats where I spent 10 fantastic days!!!
HECTOR!, Miki and Camilla the Swiss FrenchHECTOR!, Miki and Camilla the Swiss French
HECTOR!, Miki and Camilla the Swiss French

I met Hector and Miki in San Marcos. They were travelling with a friend, Alex(see next photo). Cool cool people who changed my name from Daithi to Tangy. Hector! I will see you at the Exit Bar with guitar in tow! As for Camilla, top lady who I am now travelling with untill the 15th!
Alex!!!!!Alex!!!!!
Alex!!!!!

You go for it girl!
I want to be a fisherman!I want to be a fisherman!
I want to be a fisherman!

Every evening this guy fished in the same place.
The first people I properly met...Irish!!!The first people I properly met...Irish!!!
The first people I properly met...Irish!!!

Brian and Meave....I hope you guys see this cause my book with my contacts was stolen with a few other things so I cant make contact...boooohoooo. So get in touch!


1st November 2007

well lad,seems ike ur avin a mad 1,knew u wud ur not the shy type and ave u seem to ave found some comrades for some partying no matter where they are from n whether u can understand them or not.thats the job keep it real man n hope to hear from u soon,i enclose my email so i get these reports on ur quest...... wayne
3rd November 2007

Go on ya good thing :)
Well Daithi ...myself and emma lucy are siting in my house in New Zealand reading ur blog-its great! So glad you are having a ball- enjoy every minute and remember...'life shouldn't be measured by the breaths we take but by the moments that take our breath away' keep rocking! Jo :) and Emma

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb