La Pedrera


Advertisement
Published: July 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello, assorted persons.

Yesterday we visited La Pedrera, Guatemala´s equivalent to Sylvan Learning Center, as Mona so quaintly put it. I don´t know if I´d agree. It more seemed to be Guatemala´s answer to ¨What do we do with these adorable kids who want to learn and expend great amounts of energy?¨

Easy. Put them on a mountain top and make them play a bunch of games with gringos.

Oh, sure, the games were easy enough at first-relays and the like.

The neglected to mention that I would be forced to tote a small Guatemalan child named Alan up a hill of doom. (But it was ok, because he was really cute and relatively light.)

The children there were so sweet-They became attached to us really easily, so for the majority of my time there I had one child or another attached to my hand. I don´t know if they were shy, or if they just wanted to touch the crazy white people that couldn´t speak their language very well. (My gosh. So embarrassing. I´m positive they laughed at us. Well, I would have laughed at us too. We were pretty funny.)

After that we watched the clouds for awhile, then headed out for ice cream.

The coolest thing, though, is La Pedrera is situated right behind the gigantic building with the words ¨Cristo Viene¨ So, of course, I was totally excited whereas everyone else was like ¨Ok, Kelsey, it´s exciting but lets go play with the small children now.¨

They simply do not understand.

Advertisement



7th July 2006

I'm not your loose change...
No one ever understands you, Kelsey. Except me mostly. And, by making that statement, no one understands me either... except you mostly. Plz bring me a Guatemalan child! Keep having fun and staying safe... and don't get a 24-hour stomach bug, because it's not fun to pass out twice, throw six times, go to two doctors, and sleep for sixteen hours all in the same day. Though it DOES make for a pretty good story. Ok well. I'm off to read the 47 pieces of email that I recieved since yesterday. It's amazing what just one day without internet can do to you. Love you muchly.
28th July 2006

cómo se dice Cucumber en español? I'll have to ask you questions like that, because I'll be taking spanish along with Chinese :o and I really want to be able to say Cucumber in spanish to impress my teacher "por favor cucumber?"

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb