Christo Viene.


Advertisement
Published: June 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello, friends, parents, colleagues, strangers, assorted silverware...

There is a sign hanging over the town of Quetzaltenango that says "Christo Viene." Every day as my housemates and I walk to school we stroll through Parque Central and alongside bakeries and across wide streets filled with honking cars, but all the while this sign hangs above us and makes me feel philosophical and paranoid.

Just in case that interests you.

Let's see...yesterday we attempted to learn to dance Merengue in a small dance studio/cafe. Now, I only say attempted because after about 13 tries at a small arm movement and 2 fruitless dances with the dance instructor , I discovered I have no natural rhythm and should probably just become a nun or a math textbook writer.

So instead our normal group of about 6/7 went to Giuseppes and afterwards every girl in our house became seriously ill. Like, "please kill me now" ill.

Now you're all probably thinking it was the pizza, but Ally had been feeling sick since Saturday and we were all kind of dizzy/sick before the pizza. Besides, there is no way such good pizza as that could make me sick. That'd basically be illegal.

I'm seriously. It is super-pizza.

In a little bit we will be visiting an orphanage and after that school, as always.

Reading back, I realize I said pizza a lot...oops.

Anyway.

If anyone could explain to me what "Trincar" means in english or understandable spanish, that'd be pretty cool. My host family was trying to explain it to us last night, but it's slang, and therefore not in the dictionary. See, they asked me what the word for "Trincar" was in English, and I jokingly told them it was "Kelsey" and they all started laughing really hard.

So I'd kind of like to make sure that I didn't just call myself an syrian camel hunter, or something like that.





Advertisement



29th June 2006

Yo no se nada.
Well, neither freetranslation.com nor urbandictionary.com had anything to say. So it must be really obscure Spanish slang. Because the latter /does/ have some Spanish slang terms [AKA the more widely-used ones... IE 'chingar']. How do I know? Because I know everything! But, I have to say that 'trincar' is definitely a verb [but you already knew that] unless it's /so/ slangish that even though it ends in 'ar', it is not the infinitive form of a verb. Glad I could help... ha, no I'm kidding. This comment has absolutely nothing constructive about it whatsoever. So let me leave some words of wisdom to remember... Mari's puppy has extremely sharp teeth. [If you try to find out whether or not this is true firsthand, you will not be happy.]
29th June 2006

trincar...
Here's what I could find: trin·car tr. 1. (romper) to break up, smash 2. (sujetar) to hold down 3. figurative, slang (matar) to bump off, rub out 4. (comer) to put away (eat) 5. colloquial (beber) to put away (drink) 6. (robar) to lift, swipe 7. maritime, nautical to lash, tie My guess is: #3--to bump off, but what do I know? I'm sorry to hear you were all sick. Lauren and I were sick as well (perhaps it's just our psychic connection!) I miss you lots.
29th June 2006

Pizzaz
Interested acquaintance: "So..like what kind of cool food did you guys have...?" Kelsey: Umm...we had cheeseburgers and pizza! I think we need to retool your stories, add a little pizza-z...maybe make up a spanish word for cheeseburgers and pizza. By the way, trincar can mean alot of things according to the Dali Google, including "to drink excessively (to put it away)" and "the act of kissing". Hmmmm... now you're in trouble. By the way, it's catching! Both your mom and Lauren are sick with the throw-ups. I think they're trying to hard to share your experiences. Love, Dad
30th June 2006

sounds like fun
Hey Trincar...oops...I mean Kelsey, I am sorry that everyone is getting sick. I hope they have pepto bismal or some other drug to make you feel better. Anyway, it is fun reading about your adventures. You certainly have a future in writing travel logs. It has been raining here for several days in a row and everything is wet or under water. Yuck. Anyway, I am looking forward to more stories and pictures when you guys come home. Hang in there...we are thinking about you!! Brooke and fam.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb