Monday, monday.


Advertisement
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So up until this point I´ve been kind of ignoring how apparently some of the parents and some of the people on this trip have been reading my blog, but after a certain influx of ¨such and such read this and was like say whaaaaa¨ and ¨Hey Kelsey, my dad said....about...¨I guess I can´t pretend like that anymore. So hello, parents and peers. How are you? I´m fine. Weather is awful. Wish you were here. The kids say hello. We bought a lot of stuff for you at Pana. I haven´t seen an ocelot yet. I have seen stray dogs and assorted lizards and a couple of old creepy guys. Ally found a cricket in her fettucini alfredo.

Please excuse the rushed email from last night with 30493 typos. My fingers were all bitten off by a sheep. They regenerated this morning, luckily.

Last night my whole house was exhausted after the weekend trip. We went home and attempted to do our homework together, up until certain hermanos that shall not be named felt it would be hilarious to tap on the window from the courtyard and growl ferociously. So of course we screamed our heads off. I find that in Guatemala we´ve all been on edge. The littlest thing is liable to set us off, whereas we´ll be inconsolable for approximately four minutes. Anyways, we tried to do our homework, but I was too tired to walk to my own room and just passed out where I was. So the trip is kind of tiring.

But, hey, the food is good.

AND: WE ARE NOT UNDERNOURISHED AND WEAK AND SUFFERING FROM GUATEMALAN TYPHOID. Promise. Guatemalan´s honour. We have not been bitten by any rabid dogs or people. I haven´t run out of money. The worst that has happened to me is I have the sunburn from hell on my face, but I can´t blame Guate for my red nose.

What else.. .. . . . . ... . ...... . . .. . .. . ..

How do you spell typhoid?

Did I mention it rains a lot? And by a lot I mean constantly? And by constantly I mean I am never fully dry and at night I dream about it raining?

Oh, I did? Fantastic.

Oh, just kidding. A couple of girls apparently have an amoeba...or something...they´re going to the doctor today. But please don´t freak out and send outraged emails to ms. owen. They´ll be fine, and I promise that we´ll let someone adultish know if we begn to feel sick.

Must run. Much love. Adios.


Advertisement



26th June 2006


Kelsey! I'm sorry you're wet and sunburned and fatigued. I'm sorry that you're having wet dreams (did I really say that?). We are really getting soaked here, too, lately. You know, of course, that this pummeling is designed to soften and tenderize your body and facilitate the absorption of the language and culture. Your mother and I, however, that your body alive, so take better care of yourself. We miss you, Su padre
27th June 2006

Glad to hear your enjoying yourself.
Kelsey, I am sure, with your incredible personality and go get'em attitude, you are having a ball. It is great to learn more about your adventures. Keep up the blogs.....Lainie says hi!
27th June 2006

Bam, Missesfaceeee.
Hey, about the whole rain thing? Yeah it's totally doing that here too. On a totally DIFFERENT subject, I'm so sorry for missing your instant message earlier this evening!!! I wanted to talk to you sooo bad. =[ But it's a rather crazy time at my house right now because... [drumroll?] my mom has more medical problems. Yay. And these are like the worst ever, yet. She has some stuff wrong and MIGHT have cancer [but, knowing her, she doesn't and her stuff is wrong just because... she's a freak 'o nature, teehee] and... yeah. So, on Wednesday they are doing tests [colonoscopy] to find out what exactly is wrong and then sometime next week [date TBA, I'll tell you when we know] they are doing surgery. 6 hour surgery, 5 days in the hospital, 2 weeks at home no driving... yep. I don't know why I'm telling you all of this, except to say that I am pretty darn sure that YOU don't pray, but I am also pretty darn sure that like 99.99% of all South/Central American people do... so you should ask your host family to pray for your best friend's sick mother, because it would make said sick mother feel better. Because said sick mother does pray and she believes that praying works and stuff. So. Plz do that for me because you love me. And I love you. And I miss you so damn much! Anddddd I hope you're having lots and lots and lots of fun. And this comment is REALLY long so I guess I should stop now, shouldn't I? Email me or something. Or mention me in your next blog! That's be way way exciting. Okay, well, I'm really going to stop now. Really. Really. Okay. <3 Liana

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb