The Journey (Penny)


Advertisement
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Santa Monica localsSanta Monica localsSanta Monica locals

Sorry no beach babes
Hola guys!
First email out of guatemala. Please excuse the atrocious typing to come,
most of the letters have rubbed off the keyboard ( how I wish I had learnt
touch typing!) nad some have been replaced in twink but not always
correctly. Jamie and I arrived in Xela (pronounced shay-la) our final
destination after a long but not entirely unpleasant journey via auckland
and LA. spent an after noon sleeping on the grass by samta monica beach
(aka Baywaytch Beach) and was surprised to open my eyes and find myself
staring up at a Pohutakawa tree ( I wonder what they call them in
american?)Guatemala city seemes like an interesting, if not exceedingly
grotty, city, but we didn{t stay long. I was glad to sleep most of the bus
ride to Xela as Janie informes me afterwards that we were on the wrong
side of the road for a substantial amount of the ride!Xela itself is an
amazing city, full of people and life. Most of the women wear the
traditional bright woven dress of the Mayan people and are capable of
carrying loads the size of a child on their heads. There are so many
little shops here selling all kinds of things including plenty of internet
cafes, so should be able to keep in touch pretty easily. I started at
Primeros Pasos medical clinic the day after we arrived. there we see a
class of children a day and check them up for nits, parasites ( which 90%
of them have) and malnutrition. Pretty basic medicine really. I deperately
need to learn some spanish though! Started lessons today. Jamie starts
work as a guide for Quetzal trekkers on the weekend. Xela has an amazing
and surprising culture of foreign volunteers- I met a girl the other day
who was volunteering cleaning street dogs. Hm. Started my "altitude training"
with a run- have decided to run with stones in my pockets to
ward off the mangy ( and grumpy) stray dogs. Anyway, better get going,
hope that you are all well and sorry not to catch up with some of you
before I left.
Take care amigos,
Penny.:-)



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Penny workingPenny working
Penny working

Like the white coat?


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb