I'm here!


Advertisement
Published: March 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

All is well. Greetings from Xela! My host family is very nice and helpful. They speak a few words of English and the youngest boy studies English in school so his fatherf told me to speak English to him - but he does not understand very much yet.

I got last last night walking home (trying to) from a dance at the school. I made one wrong turn. But it was warm by our standards and eventually one of thge scvhool staff found me and took me back!

I feel very foolish not being able to say what I want and will learn much more and have more fun once I can say a bit more in Spanish. The father of my family says in two weeks
My host family are
I went for another walk this morning and it was fine. I found Central Park and many other things including this internet shop. The cost is 4Q per hour and that is about 60 or 65 cents Canadian. The sun was hot (I didn't need a jacket or sweater this morning) but there are some clouds since I came here.

Tomorrow
I look forward to many interesting experiences in the days ahead. Everyone is very friendly and it feels very safe, even at night in this area. Adios amigos.

Advertisement



4th March 2006

Perceptive from the valley
As of today there has been 25 cm of snow and a chance of 15 more tonight and tomorrow. The wind is gusting between 40 - 60 km. The tempature is -4 and if feels much colder.
5th March 2006

Good to hear from you. Take care and keep he news coming. Darlene
8th March 2006

Hello
Hi Alen Just got back to sask from BC. Have just now got my computer hooked up so have read and enjoyed your adventures in Xela. Take care of thoes feet.......
12th March 2006

March 12 2006
Glad to here you are "finding" your way down there. Please say hi to your host family from our Scouts here in Yorkton. We've been skiing at Aesissippi yesterday and had a blast. I started my new job with First Nations Indian Health Branch in Regina - a great bunch. Love the information on this and will keep reading. Bonnie

Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb