Two weeks left!


Advertisement
Published: February 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's now just two weeks until I will be on my way to Guatemala.Some people fast in lent, and while I hope to lose some weight by eating less food, that won't be the biggest part of my experience. Lent is traditionally for mainline churches a time to focus on world developemnt issues, and Guatemala is very much a part of the "third world" - a place where extreme poverty exists alongside of much wealth. "To what extent might we as Canadians be contributing to that reality?" is one of the questions I plan to pursue.
The temperature in Xela today is 82°F with a predicted low of around 40°F, with predicted highs in the extended forecast of about 79° - about what I can expect when I get there, though the nights can get cooler I'm told, even close to freezing, and central heat will not be part of what I will find. There will be little precipitation this time of year.

You are invited to stay in touch via this blog as I share with you my experiences. Pictures will appear at duckesq.albumpost.com

Advertisement



15th February 2006

visiting Guatemala
Hi Al. I'll be thinking of you as you continue your adventure in life. I'll be interested to hear about your continuing journey and the stories you can share with us. We're fine here in Thunder Bay. See you!
15th February 2006

OK
It was -30 here last night. The advantage is the bugs here are smaller.

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb