swine flu revisited?


Advertisement
Published: May 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I can now officially cross off food poisoning from our list of travel nightmares. I woke up yesteday morning with a strange feeling that something horrible was going to happen to me. After another hour of sleep and a little food in my system, I was feeling ok enough to head to school (so strange to write that btw). Well, I was in for a big surprise. Within only a few minutes of our walk, I was bent over in our neighbors lawn showing the world what I had eaten in the last 24 hours (sorry for being so graphic). Pure misery. That was just the beginning of the pukescapades... I spent the entire morning crawling from bedroom to bathroom - bathroom to bedroom, in between cold sweats, in hopes that this would be the last time. Finally, out of pure desperation, I called Megan for help and she came to the rescue with drugs and pedialyte (apparently the kids drink is for adults as well). Within an hour I was feeling like a whole new person, just a little weak from the series of toilet visits. Not to mention, during this nightmare I had the school calling interrogating me as to why I wasn´t in class...AND...the guatemalen cleaning lady at the house was trying to clean the bathroom during the peak hour of the misery. I´m pretty sure at that point I was thinking "what am I doing here". Calling my mom was probably not the best idea, considering mother´s always think it´s the worst possible case and I must have swine flu and must see a doctor immediately (I love you for that mom). But instead of being quarantined by the guat medicos, I waited it out and woke up this morning with a whole new outlook on life... "I´m going to live!". Unfortunately, Megan didn´t get away untouched. As I write this email, she is at home suffering the same symptons as I did. With that said, I need to finish this email and return the care she gave to me. Hopefully, we will be sipping (or slamming) cervezas by the end of the night. Pray for us 😉

Maybe I should stay away from street meat from now on?? But then again, these situations are sometimes inevitable and it just makes you appreciate the good times that much more. So once I makesure Megan is alive and well, I´ll start making arrangements for our 4 am bus departure tomorrow morning to Rio Dulce. If all goes as planned and our bus actually sticks to the itinerary, we will be bumming it on the beach by the end of the weekend!! pina coladas here we come!!

Just another story to make things a bit more interesting..."always up for adventure!"

BESOS,

Boots

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb