Breathtaking Lago de Atitlan


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lago de AtitlanLago de AtitlanLago de Atitlan

Me in the garden of our hotel with the view of the lake in the background.
I am writing from Lago de Atitlan, the most beautiful lake I have ever been to surrounded by volcanos and tiny villages. We took a bus from Antigua to Panajachel (about 3 hrs) and then a boat ride across the lake to San Marco, a quiet island whose focus was yoga, massages, and inner peace. There is no other way to describe it than breathtaking! It´s how I imagine Hawaii is but with less people and more time to think. The village maybe has 100-150 people in it, most if not all are Mayan, carrying baskets on their heads in typical Mayan clothing. By the way, not sure if I´ve mentioned how tall I feel here, but quite honestly I feel like a giant. It´s great!!! (brooke w.- can´t imagine how tall you felt!)

The 3 of us (doleep sp? from Tampa but of Indian descent and Martin from Switzerland) found a hotel ($15 each a night for the most luxurious place I´ve seen so far here with HOT water) with views of the lake that make you wonder how you are lucky enough to see such a place. I keep thinking the only thing that would make this better is if Adam were here! We went for a hike around the lake that everytime I glanced up and saw the view couldn´t believe I had found paradise. The hike itself was challenging in the least and I do feel lucky that the only damage I had was scraped knuckle. I was a tad worried about an injury and the thought of going to a Guatemalan hospital invoked enough fear not to fall! It was as close to rock climbing as I´ve ever been. Eric, (my brother), you would have LOVED it!!!!!

After hiking we went for a swim in the cool lake, which quite honestly is the cleanest I´ve felt since arriving. So refreshing!!! I can´t wait for Belize and all of the swimming! This morning, we took a short boat ride to the ¨party village¨and that´s where I stopped to write. More to follow......... as always, off to explore......tu amiga

Advertisement



19th June 2006

Your trip sounds amazing!
Hola! Como esta? Thanks for keeping us updated on your travels. I am sure you are having a wonderful time visiting all the amazing sights and learning about the culture. Adios! - Kelly
19th June 2006

beautiful...
and looks like a skiing lake! I really have to go to Guatamola
19th June 2006

How's your Spanish Coming?
Gracias para las cartas y se imagina. Soy feliz de oír que usted se divierte. Goce.
19th June 2006

You go girl! Elise, I am so jealous. Please continue your awesome updates and be safe =)

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb