Volcanos and Bungaloos


Advertisement
Published: September 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Buenos Tardes!
Greetings from Lago Atitlan. We landed in Guatemala city two days ago and immediately jumped into vans to take us to San Marcos. The group was wiped out after an overnight flight. We slept most of the way. After a long nap squeezed in upon the winding roads leading to the highlands, we finally arrived. The words "Bienvenidos a lago" woke me out of a deep sleep and I looked outside to the spectacular sight of Lake Atitalan.

As some may already know, my Grandmother has been diagnosed with lung cancer. I decided to go foward with the trip anyway with the understanding that I would fly home if things looked bad. I am always thinking of her and send my love to her and the rest of family.

We boated across the lake to a bigger town with a market today. It is raining at the moment so I decided to let y'all know that I was safe, happy and healthy. The market is fun. I am resisiting the strong urge to purchase up a storm. Its nice to talk to the locals anyway. Guatemalans are so friendly.

We are staying in a very cool hotel. We sleep in bungaloos with thatched roofs. The spiders are slightly unnerving at first, but whatevs. Tommorow we leave for Antigua. I have no idea what to expect.

I eat lots of beans while listening to reagaeton which makes me very happy. Last night we ate dinner by candle light at a nice hotel called Blind Lemon's. The owner came over and played the blues for us. I had some burritos con pollo. Delicous!

I cant wait to share my travel stories with you all when I return!
LOVE EMMA


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



23rd September 2006

peasant, coach, co-director, teacher,...
Hi Emma - I am such a tehno-loser and assume that this will not work. Great to hear of your travels; let me know if you read this - I'd be shocked. Take care - Ron
23rd September 2006

Hello from Vermont
Hi Emma-la Glad to hear you are having such interesting adventures... look forward to hearing more about your journey as this year progresses.... Michelle
25th September 2006

Hi from Compass
Emma, Thanks for doing this blog. All of us at Compass are very proud of you for going out to do good things in the world. We'll keep checking in. Love to you, Eric
25th September 2006

hey emma! thanks for the email. i am glad you are having a good time. i know what you mean about buying up a storm. i already have so many clothes made for me and cool african things. i dont know how i will get it all home. yes ghanains are wicked hot especially one we have on staff at home base (bow-chica-bowow) I am so sorry to hear about your grammy, i will be thinking of her and sending good vibes. hope to here from you soon I LOVE YOU!

Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb