Out on the lake.


Advertisement
Published: August 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Paddling Paddling Paddling

on el Lago Atitlàn.
San Petro, 11 febrero 1990.
the painting
After a confusing night full with bizarre dreams - must have been that dope we smoked last night - I woke up to that darned "Knock-Knock-Kncok" on the door, not being really surprised it was that Crazy Belgium again
7o'clock, James, it is your newly found belgium buddy who wants to volcano climbing with you.
By now it is nearly noon time and I'm sitting in my rented canoe smack in the middle of Lago Atitlan, a great and hot guatamalteca sun beaming down on me and a fine joint in my hand.
This is much more fun than climbing volcanos with crazy belgiums, not a soul to be seen, tranquility rules here on this lake.
Far out in the distance I can see a few locals fishing out of their own canoes but they are so far away I can't even hear their voices.
Volcan Atitlan
Volcan San Pedro is actually not the only volcano around here. Floating here in the middle of Lago Atitlan I can see Volcan Toliman and a bit behind Toliman, is Volcan Atitlan.
Volcan Atitlan is at 3500 m. the biggest, Volcan Toliman is just over 3000 m.
SunsetSunsetSunset

at Lago Atitlàn
high nd Volcan San Pedro just under 3000 m.
If James and his buddy hurry they should be able to get back before nightfall.

Several hours later and near twilight.

I come back to live and back into the here and now after several hours of dozing.Shit it is getting late and I still have to row back to San Petro la Laguna - the full name of the village.
My arms feel like lead and the last rays of the guatamala sun penetrate my head doing some serious damage up there.

Somehow this paddling was much easier this morning.

When I get back to the pier I can see the canoe owner anxiously awaiting me, was he getting worried I was gonna steal his canoe or what?

Nothing has changed in San Pedro since this morning, the women still wear their colorful huipiles, flocks of birds and flowers brillantly colorful embroidered on them, the children of the village greet me when I get out of the canoe trying to sell me bracelets and clay whistles

All this excersize and pot has gone to my head and while I walk down the cobblestone streets
Another sunsetAnother sunsetAnother sunset

at Lago Atitlàn
on the way to our family-run hotel, I wonder if these guys made to the top of Volcan San Petro.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 26; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb