Tennessee Group Week


Advertisement
Published: March 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Thanks for a Wonderful Week, Tennesseans




I did as close to nothing interesting as possible on thursday and friday. My job all day was to carry cinder blocks down a ridiculously steep hill in a wheel barrow. There were 400 of them...Yeah.

Saturday- A group from Tennessee came today and they are great people. One couple has adopted from the orphanage before and are in the process of adopting again. They are here to work on the archway that has yet to arrive...God bless Guatemala time.

Sunday- We spent a little time today in Panajachel walking around and eating. We then got back up and played with the kids a little and then I went to bed.

Monday-Wednesday- Since the wood for the archway has yet to leave the tree we started on another project. We are power washing the roof and then sealing it with thinned-out road tar. Needless to say the first day and a half was really wet and the second day and a half was really messy. We did manage to get the whole roof sealed and it looks really nice. I almost ruined one pair of jeans but through brute force, determination and scare-tactics I finally got the tar out of the fabric. Unfortunately, I can´t put them in the dryer for a while because they are so saturated with thinner that they probably will catch fire.

Thursday- I started the day moving sand down the hill that I had formerly moved blocks...exciting. I think that Don Chema thinks ¨Andy has had almost exclusively crappy jobs...why not give him one more.¨ We then went to Panajachel at around noon to get some coffee from Mike the coffee guy at Crossroads Cafe. They are going to bring it back and sell it and give the proceeds to the Eagle´s Nest. I then went to my Spanish class (they have been going very well, thanks).

Friday- I worked today pressure washing some walls and then tried to work on the internet problem for a while. The problem is this: we have a satellite internet that is pirated and doesn´t normally work well. Well, the pirates are now out of business and the internet stopped working. We keep looking for a new company but they are hard to find, and expensive. After the internet thing I went to my final Spanish class, pronounced myself fluent and thanked Nicolas for two good weeks of classes. I highly recommend him at Jardin de America spanish school in Panajachel.

Saturday- Only a half day! Marcario and I washed Larry and Claire´s roof all day. The home was getting fumigated by Luis so I had to put all of my clothes and food out of the way. That night we went out to Panajachel and hung out and ate at Guajimbo´s.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb