What happened to Michael???


Advertisement
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On the way to Chichicastenango, late afternoon.
I let my mind drift while outside the closed confinement of a gutamaltecan chicken bus a real thunderstorm has broken out, the rain floods the bus coming in through paneless windows, flashes of lightning light up the overcast sky.
We're travelling uphill to Chichicastenango which is situated at 2000 m. The landscape outside the bus consistes of galleta gras, mesquite- and creosote bushes. I watch this landscape through a grey shower of rain allowing my mind to drift and drift, back to this morning........
I woke up this morning to the smell of a grass joint finding myself stark naked in bed with Nora who was sitting crosslegged next to me stark naked as well offering me the joint.
Looking around me I realised I was in their room, two double beds with me and Nora in one and Mary Carmen in the other looking at me with the sleep still in her crazy eyes and as naked as me and Nora.
Heavy snoring originating from the floor between the two beds betrays me the presence of James and Peter-The-Dirty-Hippy. Looking over the side of the bed I could see them fully dressed and happily snoring away, though I had no doubt that the smell of the joint would wake them up soon enough.
I remember it wasn't untill after breakfast in the gringo bar's garden and a few cold beers to get ourselves back into the real world that we realised that somehow along the line last night during our BIG PARTY TIME we lost Michael-The-AA-Member.
Well, couldn't be helped...we had serious plans to go to Chichicastenango's sunday market so we decided to leave his worn out backpack heavy with his treasured english newspapers, with the reception and took this chicken bus to Chichicastenango.
Yeah, the gang of crazy gringos is back together!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 80; dbt: 0.1309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb