Mistake by the Lake


Advertisement
Published: April 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I make the occasional mistake and pay the price. On this occasion I decided to spend a night in Santa Elena-Flores to take care of some business and because I thought that it would be a pleasant place to stay given that it's situated on a lake far away from the rest of Guatemala. I chose a hotel that would have a place for the Scion to sleep but I lost my bearings on the final approach due to road construction. I thought I was fortunate to find another hotel where the Scion and I could stay for cheap but this was one of those times that you get what you pay for. I failed to notice that there was no screens on the windows and the fan didn't work well enough to mitigate the oppressive heat and humidity. I did have a fine view of a Burger King and a destruction site where they were busy with jackhammers well into the night. The jackhammers really weren't so bad because I could barely hear them over the din of the mosquitos flying in for their dinner. I might have driven another two hours to a better place but it's not always possible to know where that better place is until you have been there. Tomorrow is another day and I will find it.

Advertisement



11th April 2011

hey be careful with the mosquitos! they carry bot flies in that region!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb