Active Sophie!


Advertisement
Published: October 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

One of the things that I´m loving about Guatemala so far is that the internet is really quick! In Mexico it took me forever to upload my photos, but it takes a matter of seconds here- yahoo!

From Flores I travelled to a town called Poptun to stay at a place called Finca Ixobel. It was a really cool place- a mixture between a farm and a hostel. There were cows, horses, a pond you could swim in and 400 acres of land for various tours and walks. They make their own bread, grow their own veggies & salad, and every night at 7 they sound a gong and everyone has dinner together.

Having not ridden a horse since I was a teenager (after falling off and being a bit scared after that!), I decided to give it another go. It was only for 2 hours, but man, my bum was sore afterwards!!!! Managed to do quite a lot of trotting and even cantered a bit, which was quite scary seeing as there was no head protection to wear!

For some reason I obviously thought I was a bit more sporty and active than I actually am in
me in the pondme in the pondme in the pond

It was quite cold and the bottom was all slimy!
real life. I signed up to go on a tour of a cave that was on the land of the Finca, not really giving much thought to the fact that it was 2 hours to walk there and 2 to walk back. The walk for the first hour was lovely- through fields and muddy paths (it had rained loads the night before). I borrowed some wellies and swiftly got ginormous blisters on my little toes. The second hour was evil- climbing up and down this mountain which was a mixture of rocks and mudslides, never mind the fact that there were a million mosquitos milling about. Grrrrrrr....

All this was forgotten by the time I got to the cave to spend 2 hours swimming and clambering over various rocks in the pitch dark. I had a handy headlamp thing that I could put on my head, but the guide had to swim with one hand above the water the whole time with his torch and candles above his head. Was too wimpy to jump down this massive waterfall thing deep within the cave, also realised that if I survived the jump I would most definitely perish as I tried to clamber back up again! Was really eerie in the cave, but as it was so dark, none of my photos came out very well.

We had to exit the same way we came in, which meant swimming against the current. I was exhausted by this point, which made the 2 hour walk back in wet clothes really, really evil. I slept very well that night, and now I´m aching all over. That teaches me to think I´m sportier than I actually am!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Fresh faced at the start of the 2 hour walk to the cave.Fresh faced at the start of the 2 hour walk to the cave.
Fresh faced at the start of the 2 hour walk to the cave.

You should have seen me at the end of the 2 hour walk back to the farm. It was not a pretty sight (hence no picture!)
stylish head torchstylish head torch
stylish head torch

Thanks Dad, it came in handy after all!


9th October 2007

Mr Spurling says....
"I didn't know horses had saddlebags...Oh no, that's her a***" I've thumped him for you!
9th October 2007

Ever so handy head gear
I had a sort of deja vu feeling about the torch as soon as you mentioned it. Long live Lidle's I say!!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb