Flores ... the Venice of Guatemala?


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Happy Holi to all my east Indian friends around the world.

I don’t teach next week because of this holiday called “Holi” in India. Good question. Yes, the word “holiday” in English likely is derived from this Indian tradition. I am sad to inform you that you haven’t lived your life until you have experienced Holi with a child’s heart, in India. I am not kidding. Make sure to put it on your bucket list. Here are links to my first two holi-days:

Holi 1

Holi 2



I am now in northern Guatemala. It is much warmer here than it was in Antigua.

I came to northern Guatemala because I wanted to see the seat of civilization for the Mayan people and I needed a jumping off point, so I decided to stay on an island called Flores. The island of Flores is in the middle of a lake also called Flores, about an hour south of Tikal. I’ll tell you about Tikal in my next post. It is a Ghost town in the jungle about an hour north of here that was deserted by the Mayans in 700 AD. Tikal is in such a remote area of the jungle, that it rested quietly unmolested for 1100 years until it was rediscovered in 1854.

Enjoy Flores for now … beautiful people, beautiful place, beautiful life. Try not to love Flores when you see the pictures. I dare you.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



3rd March 2012

Lucky Man !
Dan, What a decision, what a life !! You are truly fortunate. Thanks a ton for sharing your experiences. Makes for uniquely delightful reading !! Best wishes for more and more travel, and more and more writing . . . Paul

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb