Mad Bats and the Temples of Tikal


Advertisement
Published: February 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Gerry and Denise's Journey


The rain spattered off the windscreen of the minibus whisking us from Flores, where we were staying, to Tikal, the great lost city of the Mayans (how come all these great civilisations managed to keep losing these huge cities anyway?). I (Gerry) was by myself, as Denise doesn't best like ruins and she and I would visit them together the next day anyway. To be fair we have seen more ruins over the last 10 months than most archaeologists see in a lifetime. I, however, never fail to get excited by a pile of old stones in some quiet bit of jungle!

The thunderstorm had cleared the area of tourists and left an eerie mist amidst the dripping trees and the grey rain-soaked ancient stones. After a short walk I found myself completely alone in thick jungle and a sense of faint forboding tingled down my sweaty spine. The ruined temples cover a large area. Around a large mound concealing some old foundations of a Maya building I happened upon an entrance to a cave, feeling brave I stooped down to enter and nearly died when two huge bats flew straight at my face in an effort to escape! Fast
People at Templo 4People at Templo 4People at Templo 4

Looking across to the other temples high above the tree line.
though they were I beat them to the exit! My next encounter with the local fauna was a troupe of monkeys clattering through the tall trees above me showering me in wooden debris!

Further mishaps and adventures to be updated later (when I get time!).







Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

CoatimundiCoatimundi
Coatimundi

Near sunset with virtually nobody left in the park a family of coatimundis came rummaging past me!
View from FloresView from Flores
View from Flores

We stayed in a hotel in Flores, which is almost an island, connected by a causeway to the mainland. Flores is about 60kms from the Tikal ruins.
Spider monkeySpider monkey
Spider monkey

Swinging through the jungle near the temples
Cave/tunnel Cave/tunnel
Cave/tunnel

I nearly jumped out of my travel trousers when 2 huge bats flew straight at me as I tried to enter!


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb