Tikal


Advertisement
Published: July 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The ten hour bus ride to Tikal only took 6 and 1/2. Fortunately i slept most of the way, cause I can only imagine how much the bus driver was speeding.
The ruins are amazing. The Maias were incredicle, building 50 meter structures in the middle of the tropical forest. The place has a lot of positive energy, especially early in the morning before it's packed with turists. I arrived in Flores at 5 am and I took the first van to Tikal at 5:30am. It was supposed to leave at 5, but it was late. Good for me.
I also got officially ripped off for the first time on the trip. I paid 10 bucks for the round trip to tikal - 1.5 hours each way. The regular price was 5 bucks. That son of a b****. I found out when I stopped to get some coffee and the woman asked how much I had paid. She told be about the rip off. She even made fun of me, saying that was going to charge 10 dollars for the coffee...
If I get back to Guatemala city alive we are going to El Salvador tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb