A La Frontera


Advertisement
Published: June 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lazy Sunday - I slept in ´til 9 am which was awesome and just read and learned some new songs. I decided I should get out of the house for a bit, so I came to this little café. I begin reading my book, Maya Cosmogenesis 2012, and get to a point where it says ¨The Maya were interested...¨ and a woman in indigenous dress comes by sweeping the floor and I can´t help but get confused in the irony of time and place.

Yesterday (Saturday) Ambika and I got up around 7 am and went to catch a bus to Tecún Uman, which is the Guatemalan border town next to Mexico. It took about 3 1/2 hours to get there and we walked across the border - which is a bridge over a trashy river. You really don´t see a difference in the sides - the are both desolate landscapes that are crying for an answers to its problems, which are many and complicated.

We ate Bistek a La Mexicana in Restaurante Magda, drank a few Coronas and watched part of the MX vs. Argentina game, walked around the Mexican border town of Ciudad Hidalgo and after 3 hours in Mexico we returned to Guatemala for a bus back to Xela. (Oh, by the way...we did this b/c we needed to renew our visas - which is necessary every 90 days. Though I´ve only been here for 2 months it was my last free weekend before it would have expired.)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0954s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb