Aldea de las Brisas


Advertisement
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Aldea de las Brisas, or Brisas as its known here is the closest jungle village. Not a lot to say about it really since its so small but I just wanted to put some photos up of it as it is lovely. All the houses are made out of bamboo and reeds and inside they are just one large room usually for a family of at least 5 people.This is where we come to get away from the orphanage for a couple of hours. There are a couple of little shops for fruit and veg, and tabacco and beer. Most of the kids here come to school in the orphanage everyday, but there is also another school here so not all of them. Some of the women also wash and dry our clothes if you don't feel like doing it yourself. Its as good as a machine wash and it's an income for the locals so I got my first wash done here last week. Good job considering it only cost about $3. They also make on of my favourite snacks, chocobanano, which is basically half a banana on a lollipop stick dipped in chocolate and frozen, delicious! Not much else to say about it so I'll let the pictures do the talking.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



24th February 2008

OMG That place looks absolutely amazing. I wish to god I was there.
19th March 2008

Good to see you!
Hi Matthew, it's wonderful to at last see some photos and to know you are doing well. How long are you going to be there. It looks like a really beautiful place to be but I agree with Nuala about the tarantulas and snakes. I don't know how you can sllep at night. Look after yourself and return home safe.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb