On the way back the sea was pork choppy. That's like normal choppy but a bit meatier


Advertisement
Published: September 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sevan AltarsSevan AltarsSevan Altars

I tried to steal a photo of a bikini clad woman but it wouldn\'t let me rip it straight from the webpage.
On this day I at last did a tour. Not the informative one I had wanted but still a good one. After saving my limited money and buying bread for breakfast, we set of on a boat for the seven alters. These are yet another set of waterfalls and pools and the last of many seen on this trip, from Niagra Falls onwards. Despite having seen so many I still enjoyed it. At one place there was about a four metre drop into a pool that I jumped several times. We only stayed there about an hour then jetted off in the boat again whilst eagles, pelcians and Big Bird from Sesame Street sat around on the boats and dived for fish.

We went to Playa Blanca and the sand lived up to the name. The days activities included frisbee in the warm sea with the Israelis, walking along the shore with Eddie and reading a book in the sun, working to rekindle my faded tan. The Isralies were quine nice, again somewhat to my suprise. My money situation meant I only had bread for lunch and they gave me some biscuits and crisps and the odd toke on their
PelicansPelicansPelicans

Stolen
spliffs. One guy in particular made an effort to speak English around me and to speak to me in general. There TV is ll in English with subtitles so they get pretty good. I did notice they talked about money and prices a lot though. I almost had argument with one of them later on over Israil accepting Ethipian Jews into their country during their civil war but nobody else. Such religious prejudice is akin to racism. He ignored my comment on it, probably for the best. He was a bit of an arsehole anyway.

On the way back the sea was pork choppy (Chuleta en espanol). That's like normal choppy but a bit meatier. Several times the driver stopped the engine when a particularly large wave was coming. For quite a while we were running parrallel to the waves so we would be lifted up by them, ride along the top of them for a bit and gently drop back down.

I had all you can eat tacos for dinner for about £1.50 and they were damn good too. The frijoles volteados (bean mush) was the best I'd had for quite a while and there was plenty
Playa BlancaPlaya BlancaPlaya Blanca

White Beach
of tasty guacamole, mince, salad and lashings of mayonaise. They were crunchy tacos of the kind I still haven't eaten in Taco Bell. After that I got a bit bored but then paid up and decided I could afford a drink or two so had a Cuba Libre. After that, a smashing hostel worker called Dan did me a Jungle Geoff (renamed after a present occupant) for happy hour prices and then bought me a beer. Another Brit bought me a second and I got my own tequila shot. By the end of the night, following drinking games, I was pretty tipsy and I'd still managed to conserve 100Q in case the banks on the Belize side didn't work. Hoe Down!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

ChuletaChuleta
Chuleta

Pork Choppy
BoatBoat
Boat

The boat I was in looked pretty much like this one. It may even have been the same boat.


Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb