Pacaya


Advertisement
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Just thought I'd do a quick note about my trip to Pacaya. I went on the first weekend that I arrived, which seems like a lifetime ago now! It's only about an hour away from Antigua and then takes roughly an hour to walk up to the volcano ( or alternatively about half hour by horse...yes I did..I'd had a hard week building!)
Anyway it's well worth the trip and you are able to get really close to the lava pouring out of the top, close enough to roast marshmallows as some people were. I'm pretty sure that if in England the place would have a mile no go zone around it but hey this is Guatemala! It was quite a thrill feeling my waterproof begin to melt onto my arm. Seriously though it was amazing to get so close and was thrilled I went.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



1st August 2008

toastie
yea very nice, but you should have sent us a picture of where the photographer was standing. no doubt he was on a row of sunbeds with umbrellas. bet you have a great tan now ! yo bro x

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0704s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb