On Hold in Guatemala City


Advertisement
Published: August 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This one is short. The cost of internet here is $4 an hour so I have to type fast. I will write more when I get to a cheaper spot outside Guatemala City.
Got here last night but unfortunately my luggage hasn´t left the States yet. Apparently this is very common: I guess the airlines don´t consider cothing and personal belongings a necessity when you come to Guatemala. I´m hoping to get it tonight...or so they say.
There isn´t much to report yet because i haven´t seen much. The flight was good because the bumped me up to first class when I requested a window seat. Not to bad. After dealing with my luggage problem upon arrival, the hotel picked me up from the airport and I´ve been waiting ever since. I tried to go to a museum, but today is a National holiday ... Army Day... and so a lot of things are closed.
The hotel reminds me of other places in the world that I´ve seen... a small place with a high wall with barbed wire. Inside a sweet little court yard. Just change the cultural decor and viola! You´ve got a home in Korea, Tanzania, or Nigeria.
Hopefully tomorrow I´ll be in Antigua and there will be more to tell about.

Oh, the anticipation!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb