Day 10-12: Guatemala City


Advertisement
Published: July 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was the day we left Lanquin to head back to the city. Our shuttle was crowded, but everyone ws nice. Most people we meet are traveling for a minimum of 7-8 weeks, but many are traveling 9 monthes or more. It is amazing. I wish it were more common for Americans to do trips like this. The majority of people we meet are from other countries and speak multiple languages. I think we have a lot to learn from them.

I spent the majority of the ride talking to an Israeli girl. I was amazed at how much she knew of American politics and ashamed of how little I knew of hers. She was surprised that I was already teaching and explained to me that in Israel, ever citizen enters the army at 18 (boys and girls). They are in the army until 21, and then it is expected that everyone takes a big trip. She was traveling from Mexico, through Central America, and down into South America. Then, they start school at age 22, so they do not begin their professions until age 26-27. She also told me that she had applied for a US tourist visa twice but had been denied both times. Unless you are a student, married, or wealthy, she said it is very hard to get one. It was such an enlightening conversation speaking with her- I hope I get the chance to visit Israel one day.

It is nice to be back in the city where it is cooler. We didn't do too much exciting here, so I combined the days. It was fun to watch the Euro Cup semi-final (Italy v Germany). In every place we passed, everyone seemed to be watching the game...does anyone work around here or is a soccer game a national holiday? 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb