Arrrr my dream awaits ;D


Advertisement
Published: June 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I am currently writing from Guatemala City, where I am basically in transit towards Panama city which is the next destination.
There is not a whole lot to say about Guate besides that its not really a nice city(or safe for that matter), so I wont be staying long.
All I need to do here is book my bus-ticket and get on the right bus, which shouldn't be too much of a problem.

So ...Semuc Champey.
Nature: awesome, hostel: awesome, people: awesome and well semuc itself awesome as well 😊
(I wish writing a blog was this easy -.-' ;D)
So the trip there took like 11hours with a one hour stop in Antigua which meant just enough time to make a new best friend before continuing the trip along the endless mountain-roads.
When I arrived at the hostel in Lanquin it was already well dark so I did little more than shower,eat and meet some people.
Now, try to picture this.
Waking up in a place where U have no idea about how it looks, and the first sight being the sun barely rising over one of the foggy mountains surrounding a valley covered in lush green jungle.
So that already being nice enough while having breakfast I got invited to go along with a tubing ride.
Which basically was floating down the river on a tube(inside of a tire) while drinking bears and telling jokes and that sort of stuff.
It also turned out to be a nice intro for the rest of the evening...

The day after I decide to do the trip to the main attraction of the region, Semuc Champey.
It meant leaving the hostel at eight in the morning.
We were being picked up by a pickup truck with a sort of cage build round the back part(this is a very common transportation method in Guatemala).
And since we were with twelve it was pretty crowded, but U know, while travelling U do wanna experience different cultures...
On the way there we picked up a bunch of people as well which was fun actually since it was a forty minute ride over a very bumpy road trough a couple of mountain passes.
Once there we fist went to a big swing which was attached to a tree about ten meters high, which meant it swung pretty darn far.
And the fun part was actually that it swung over a river, so if U jumped off at the highest point U landed about 10 or 15meters in to the river.
After showing everyone my excellent Tarzan skills we continued on to a cave complex where we walked, climbed, crawled and swam trough with only one candle each for lighting... aye good times were had once more.

Once out of the caves we moved on to the highlight of the trip; Semuc Champey.
At the entrance we split up in two groups, being the lazy ones and the not so lazy ones.
And haha no -.- I was in the not-so group and hiked all the way up a mountain to a viewing point that overlooked the entire site.
When we got back down we took a very refreshing plunge in one of the pools, where we splashed around, were eaten by little fish, slid down from some natural water-slides and dove off all the possible rocks that could be doven of off.
The setting was every bit as enchanting as I believed it to be which made it another day well spend.

Once back at the hostel I ate some home made pizza and met yet another nice couple of people whit whom I chatted a bit over some beers before retiring, exhausted as I was, to my bed.

The next day I did little more than plan my way to Colombia.
For starters I will take a four day bus from Guate, where I am now, to Panama city.
Where I will spend a couple of days as there is plenty to do and see in the area, after which I will take the trip to a whole other dimension :P
And I will be sharing what that means .. offcourse in my next entry xo

Cya next time 😉
Pieje.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



3rd June 2011

Bogota baby!
Hey Peter, still loving the stories!!! This kind of stuff... one would think it's for movies and books only... but you my brother, are living it! Now... Colombia... I happen to know a very lovely, friendly and GORGEOUS little Swede who's been working there for the last 4 years... She lives in Bogota but travels around a lot and is interested in meeting you... Of course to show you around... (she has seen a lot of the world too) Warning though: her beauty might never let you go ever again! If you are up for that... do let me know :-) And dad: geen commentaar! :-P Big hug from your BIIIIIG sister! Haha!
3rd June 2011

;o ye that would be awesome actually because i have no idea whatsoever about colombia ;) However i can't say exactly when i am arriving in Bogota, since i will be 'landing' in the north(my current guess is in about 3-ish weeks from now) Cheers, Peter.
7th June 2011

Well i have to do some active stuff aswell if i don't want come back to Belgium all phat and stuff ;) Spanish is turning out to be really helpfull, although it is not really as fluent as i would like it to be. Btw i arrived in Panama city last night(yes it came as a bit of a shock to me aswell;p )
7th June 2011
BFF

quick
Hi pieje, Even in CA you cant resist at the junBfood!!! but we did also visit the good belgian Quick in a place called Lessen (province Henegouwen)on our trip home from France on sunday. Let us soon know when you are arrived at your new destination. I hope the swedisch language is easier then the spanisch... ;-)

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb