day uno


Advertisement
Published: January 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

well I finally got packed and made it to guatemala! when I arrived with mom my cousins and aunt olga met us at the airport to pick us up and then we went back to Maria Olga's, one of my cousins, house. There we all ate with the kids of my cousins who are around my age.

The weather is unreal; it is so beautiful here! everything has been amazing and being with my family has been totally great. After lunch my cousins who are my age and I went to a mall. Not exactly a culturally enriching opportunity, but it was great to spend time with them. My cousin Rodrigo bought me a cell phone which cost about $25 which was incredibly generous of him. My spanish is obviously horrible, but all my family members speak perfect english.

Last night we went out to a disco tech. My cousins are the most beautiful people you would ever meet, and they totally dress for the part. So when we went out, they all looked like they had just come saks or something. i obviously didnt bring really nice clothes, but luckily i have a couple of polo shirts that i was able to pull off. My one cousin Daniel (18) couldn't get into the bar, which i was pretty amazed by and disappointed in. But we (Me, my cousins Elaine (21), Stephanie (22), her boyfriend Quique (pronounced Keekay, 27), Christina (24) and some of their friends) went into the club. I don't really do disco clubs very well, but i think i was able to fake my way through it. It was playing Enrique Iglesias and Shakira and EVERYBODY was singing along. We were drinking rum and coke the entire night. apparently they aren't big beer drinkers here, which is a little bit of a downfall. I was told i was hitting the rum a little too hard, but i had a great time. The place was so dark and we were upstairs so when i went to pay i had to go downstairs. I missed the last step at the bottom and totally plunged into these two people dancing. after apologizing about a million times, i started to sign my receipt and the guy threw an ice-cube in my face. For throwing off their groove in a drunken stumble, I'll take an ice-cube to the face as punishment. I didn't even react, it just bounced off my cheek, but I'm sure it could've been MUCH worse

I was supposed to go surfing with my cousins Christina and Rodrigo (?) this morning but they were leaving at 5 am. apparently i missed the wake up call. But i spent the day at my cousin Margarit's (50-ish) house and had lunch with my aunt olga (75) and cousin Veronica (28) and Marguerite's husband Thomas who is a totally great guy. he is a pilot in his spare time and has some really great stories about flying around guatemala and crossing the atlantic. Marguerite is the mother of Rodrigo and Christina and Gabrielle who is in Dubai right now. mom and i just had dinner at Maria Olga's house and I'm supposed to go back out again tonight to the same club. Hopefully i'll be able to stay stumble free. I also am going to bring out the camera tonight to take some family shots, so hopefully i'll have something to post other than that map.

Cheers!

Advertisement



20th January 2008

down a few notches? ci?
Phus, Maybe drinking like a new england fish is not the greatest idea. The cultural equivalent to having an ice cube thrown in your face is having your butt kicked by an angry mid-westerner in Syracuse. Let's try to avoid tumbling downstairs and drinking the country out of rum... shall we? Funny blog. I am teaching people how to access it. I'll email you some helpful directions that might save others some time! Abbey, Q, Duff and others say "hi" from Seattle. - Marth
20th January 2008

Good to see your doing well Joe. And the Disco tech story was hilarious, I can picture it perfectly. I hope you showed them some of the ground slapping dance moves too, that really needs to be passed around. Have a good one and keep us updated.
21st January 2008

rum and coke
I hope you thought of me as you drank those rum and coke..... You know I never drink rhose.. haha. Miss you!!!!!!!!! <3
13th March 2008

Ouch!
Hi Joseph, I'm just joining your blog and I love your first Guatemalan experience. Be careful out there! Luckily you have some fabulous cousins in Guatemala who have your back I'm sure. And it sounds like you handled the whole thing gracefully... Can't wait to read more! Patty

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb