El Salvador - Day 8


Advertisement
El Salvador's flag
Central America Caribbean » El Salvador » Western » Santa Ana
September 26th 2006
Published: August 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast at Yani'sBreakfast at Yani'sBreakfast at Yani's

We're just waiting for Yani's family so we can go on our day trip to the mountains.

Day Eight - Tuesday September 26th


Woke up Tuesday feeling sick. I can't remember if it was a regular headache, or not. I think it was a combination of my antibiotics that I had to keep taking and a headache pill that didn't react well with the meds. Either way, after breakfast and while we were on our way to the mountains, I started feeling like ass.

We arrived at a restaurant which was outdoors in a series of gazebos placed along the side of one of the mountains. From there all you could see is green mountains, with thousands of coffee plants growing and lines of trees planted amongst them to prevent erosion of the mountain sides.

Yani's dad insisted on taking pictures of me against the backdrop of the mountains and my batteries died shortly after that. I would have cried but I was too busy eating chicken from a grilled skillet that was brought right out to our table. We ate good food, drank good drinks and enjoyed the fresh air and scenery. The best lunch evar! I'd have NEVER seen those things if not for the wonderful hospitality of Yani and her family!

After
Driving to Paso de AlaskaDriving to Paso de AlaskaDriving to Paso de Alaska

It was a long, long drive. M and I rode with Yani and her cousin. We drove past many little green villages and up some steep hills. Eventually we got to a restaurant called Paso de Alaska.
lunch we came home and I slept for a very long time. I was feeling very ill. But I couldn't sleep my vacation away, so I woke up, drank water, M and I goofed around with Argos, and then we all went to the mall with the intention of watching a movie. The movie had already started, so Yani, her two sisters; Janet and Amelia, their cousin, Marta and I all decided to go to Pizza Hut instead. I was sick and SO not hungry, so I ate two slices of my personal pan pizza and then had them wrap up the rest. It seemed to be a theme of the trip after I got sick; eat two bites and wrap up the rest. I'd never take the food with me. I'd always give it to whoever took us out to dinner.


We retired late that night. Every time I closed my eyes I would have the STRONGEST most VIVID visions. They'd appear as soon as I closed my eyelids, and if I wanted to make them stop, I'd just open my eyes. I wasn't dreaming, and I had complete control over them. It was the *coolest* thing
Climbing the stepsClimbing the stepsClimbing the steps

Yani's sister Janet and I climbing the steps to the restaurant.
I've ever experienced in my life. Of course, eventually I had to stop the visions and get some sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

View from the gazeboView from the gazebo
View from the gazebo

The restaurant was outdoors in a series of gazeebos placed along the side of one of the mountains. From there all you could see is green mountains, with thousands of coffee plants growing and lines of trees planted amongst them to prevent erosion of the mountain sides.
M&Yani & sceneryM&Yani & scenery
M&Yani & scenery

Marta and Yani standing in front of a beautiful background.
Coffee plantsCoffee plants
Coffee plants

A random shot of the mountains. You can see the lines of trees are a lighter colour and stand out against the darker coffee plants.
Mary-Tyler-CaroMary-Tyler-Caro
Mary-Tyler-Caro

Yani's dad insisted on taking pictures of me against the backdrop of the mountains. I didn't know how to pose, so I decided on a Mary-Tyler Moore-in-New-York type of thing.
Argos on the bedArgos on the bed
Argos on the bed

Argos knew where he wanted to go...
ArgosArgos
Argos

... and he went there! Very strong-willed dog, he is.


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0895s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb