El Salvador - Day 11 (Last day)


Advertisement
Published: August 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My new familyMy new familyMy new family

At the airport in San Salvador, Marta's family took us out for lunch. It was a nice meal before hopping on the plane, and very nice to spend a bit more time with them.

Day Eleven - Friday September 29th


Home time! Our flight didn't leave until 3 or so, so M and I quickly got ready and went to Metro Centro for breakfast. We returned to that Florencia restaurant and I had some more of those strawberry crepes that I could just drown in. My breakfast came with a free cappuccino, so I gave this to Marta to enjoy, since I don't drink any coffee products.

Went to the Coffee Cup where we bought some drinks. I chose a drink with oreo cookies in it, since it LOOKED like it would be chocolate-based and in NO WAY coffee flavoured.

I was wrong, it was coffee flavoured and I traded with M for her green tea-type drink. It was good, and my bag was stuffed to capacity by the time her uncle picked us up for the airport.

Tearful goodbyes were said to the people at the guest house. I even hugged the housekeeper. She was so cute!

At the airport before leaving, M's aunt told me that they were MY aunt and uncle as well. This I understood when she pointed to M's uncle and said "Tu Tio" (tio being uncle) and I said "si, mi tio!"
She was crying as we left, and while I knew I'd miss them, I was looking forward to getting home and seeing my family again.

Lessee, whaaaat happened on the plane ride? Ever try peeing when the seatbelt sign is on and there is turbulence? Lol, I had to go so badly that I found out. Luckily I didn't pee all over myself, and managed to stabilize myself in the tiny, itty-bitty bathroom.

We got to Miami okay, and were singing songs as we waited for our bags to arrive on the carousel so we could lug them through customs to our next flight. We seemed to be the ONLY people in good cheer there. I don't know what it is, but when we're tired, the silly-factor seems to be increased.

The flight from Miami to Toronto was spent beside a man who seemed to be REALLY pissed that he wasn't in first class. He refused to acknowledge me when I politely smiled and nodded at him when our eyes met. He simply ordered some sort of drink and read his effing book. When he got up to use the bathroom I made my move to do the same. I didn't want to piss him off even more by making him move every 10 minutes so I could pee. I probably pissed him off enough by eating a chicken caesar salad beside him (yum, garlic-y!)

Got to Toronto sometime before midnight. As the plane came in the pilot piped in over the intercom and informed us that the temperature was about 7°C. We nearly jumped for joy. After so much heat, I'd finally get to be cold for a change. Paid $30 for a taxi to take us to Marta's place. I'm glad we did, because the driver got us there in under 15 minutes. I swear, that guy knew what he was doing, and the seats were so plush and comfortable! Leather and heated. Oh, so nice after such a long flight.

Went to Marta's, spoke with her parents for a bit, slept, and the next day M's mom and dad were nice enough to drive me home.

My cat wasn't falling all over himself to greet me, but it was very nice to see him. My folks were out for the day so I got to relax and unpack all my shit. It didn't feel like I'd been gone at all, and yet when I was in El Sal, it felt as if I'd been there for a long time (in a good way, of course!).

I'm still pasty and don't look like I've gone anywhere hot at all. I don't mind, since I like to stay a uniform pasty instead of a mix of pasty with mega tan lines. I think if I go back that I'll study Spanish more intently (although studying languages isn't something I'm able to stick to for longer than 6 months). Yani might be coming up to visit us sometime, so I'm going to have to give her as good of a tour of my town as she did of hers.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb