Finally


Advertisement
Published: September 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok, sorry i haven't written for a while but i've been really buisy and the internet and power suck here right now. Anyways, a lot has happened since i last spoke, so i'll go cronalogically:

Scool:

I had my first religion class, and the homework was: write three reasons why you tink jesus is devine. So I raised my hand and said: what if you think he was just a good person?"Everyone looked at me like they were going to burn me on as a witch. Then they started questioning me, Inquisition two. And when it caem out that I don't believe in god! oh my, they are trying to converte me to believeing in God creating the world instead of nice evolution. Teh most i will conceed is for theories sake, it coudl just as well have been a spirit that made the big bang.
I also got about five invitations to go to church, all of which i declined. By the way Atrie, my uniform is not pink, luckily, alhtough my sisters fav couldour is.
Apart form that at school I got my first PE class, it was sad, me little white american plump girl was the only one not complaining and doidng only half the work. I was actually working and not bugging my teacher about the heat! The others were just you know, walking whenhe said run and staying stil when he said walk.
School really isn't getting any more interesting, but I think i'll survive, My science teacher is in love with me, i'm the only student who actually know the material when he asks. My math teacher is having the same reaction. They are, at the moment, my favourite subjects, alhotu\w english class is a lot of fun. French however is KILLING me. Its so hard to switch.

Home:

I've figured out whats going to kill me here, it's my host sister and her ways. Half the time I adore her, but she tends to be a classic only child, which is to say, she damands, no please or thank yous and assumes that everything that is mine she can have. For example, my goddes necklace. She said one day: that is so pretty, give it to me please! the please was only added onl like three second after the rest. I of course said that i coudln't as it was a gift, but it's always like that, well, not always, but she gets really whiny. Yesterday was her birthday and it was worse. I wnt to bed crying a little. I just coudln't take it anymore. She's a lovely person really, but its difficult.

AFS:

Well, I was as blind as a bat. I had a potential great friend in my orientation group and we never connected until now. She's called kati, she's a writer, she's a fantasy writer, she makes up worlds and she considers wierd and crazy a compliments. Unfortunatly she also lives in Santo Domingo, but we'll find a way, because we get along really crazily well.

Anyways, the orientation went like this, we haad a dinner (not much to eat for me) on d\saturday, all fancy and such, then all of AFS dominican Republic went dancing at the disco and got drunk, well, not the drivers and not me, but everyone else. me and kati spent most of the night talking. We ended up getting home aorund 2 AM, sleeping until six, getting a cab and being at AFS at 7. then we waited there for two hours for everyone to turn up, borded a bus and wntr to a country club to have our orientation and swim, of course, the la romana people had forgotten to tell us to bring swim suits, so I was stuck writing formost of it. I've made a lot of breakthouws and probably writien about 50 pages.

When we finished we piled back into busses, went back and I was picked up by my host dad and Carol. We visisted a few more relatives and came home, whene I cooked dinner, Carol ate most of it, and we cleaned up and the internet finally returned.

I really would love some calls.

Let's see....oh, i have some other news.

Tomorrow i'm starting salsa,belly dance and martial arts classes, well, not all tomorrow, but tomorrow is my first day at my dance school. I'm taking latin, Belly dance, tai kquan do and kendo. Hopefully also flamenco.

I'm also teaching abelly dance class much to my surprise, the Barrio girls kinda kidnapped me and talked me into it, so every day, four to six girls come over and we are working on basics and a easy routeen.

It's kinda fun Being la profesora.

unfortunatly they are tryng to teach me club or regeton dancing in return. For those who know me, I DON"T DANCE LIKE THAT! it feel absoloutly rediculous and only for the good of the boys, and thats not the knida atention I want to draw, especially as carol told me that if i ever get a boyufriend that her parents are going to kick me out! i don't think this is true if i were to ask their permission, but still, it's not encouraging. anyways, I'm here to make firends, not to have romance.

So, I thinki've come to the end of my talk. I'll write more later.

Love you all

allegra

PS: Ill upload photoes oon, I swear!

Advertisement



9th September 2007

religion
alle, good for you for sticking up for what you believe (that is: know is true). Its a little scary when people dismiss evolution and think a god created it all, because it opens up a door to fundamental blindness. maybe god set off the big bang, but she then let it go its own way! don't forget to breath! love you jaya

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb