Viva Cubanita!...Aquí vengo ...Espléndido


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba
December 1st 1998
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

She was lonely walking the Malecon...She was lonely walking the Malecon...She was lonely walking the Malecon...

this wild cat was parting me from many things that very night...Angry?...Me at her?...How could I?
Geo: 23.1168, -82.3886

De hecho ... Viva Cuba! El lema...My very first visit to Cuba...I went together with my best friend from Switzerland, we met 1993 in Bangkok and promptly planned our trip for 1994 to travel together into crime-ridden Manila, Philippines...and beyond.

Que no hablo español...también no hablo bien Inglés...Basically...Conversation possibilities were non-existent...That didn't stop the Cubans from frolicking with me...Back in the 90's the Jiintero/Jintera quota was low-key...truly wonderful walking around the streets without having someone on your tail every second trying to part you from your money in any way imaginable...

I was staying in districto Vedado, just opposite the hotel Meliá Cohíba towards the infamous La Rampa...do you see the lonely looking high-rise, Russian looking apartment building? On the very top floor, the 21st floor there was a family I would be staying with in a beautiful "room with a view"...Indeed a magnificent view it was over the ocean towards Florida and down onto the Malecon.

The family I stayed with had half their family living in Caracas...They were the Cubans with money...The apartment had everything to desire...My room was so beautiful...but Maris made me remember it forever.

There weren't many tourist way back than...It was still the true Havana to be encountered...Guess what...I met Maris again the very same night the next day...She decided to come up to my apartment...The next morning she try to take something with her that she felt was perhaps worth something to her...She took the charger for my notebook...To bad for both of us...She could not sell it and I could not use my notebook any longer...Was I pissed? Not really...how can you be angry with such a beauty...she has given me everything...I wasn't angry at all...I just decided to give her some money so she brings me back my charger...Indeed she did...She took me to her families home and I slept the night in her home rather than my apartment...

All Cubans are indeed desperate to make it through their difficult lives...Once you get to know their circumstances and deal with it, they will start to take you along into their lives...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb