90 Miles to Key West


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba » Oeste » La Habana
July 17th 2006
Published: July 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Vedado, La Habana, Cuba, Caribbean Sea, Western Hemisphere, The World



WOW!!! That is about the only way to start talking about La Habana. My flight from Cancun landed around 5:20 EST in Habana on Monday. The flight itself was quite an experience alone. I believe the plane was purchased in a garage sale from Slovakia. As the air condition kicked on the cabin filled with white fumes which seemed to worry no one on the plane. The flight itself was not so bad, but as we landed the entire cabin boomed with cheers of joy. We´re we not supposed to land, what was expected in this landing that not crashing was celebrated to such extremes. Regardless of what it meant, I was just happy to be on the ground. That was step one. Step two, bus to immigration where I waited in line with a couple from California taking in the same experience as me as we watch one after another cut in the line in front of us. Close to an hour passed before I was treated to a joyful game of twenty questions which turned into fifty which then turned into a lovely search of all my luggage.
Javier¨s porchJavier¨s porchJavier¨s porch

Good for reading, writing, relaxing, cards, drinking, conversation, sleep.
Yeah for me. As I made it to the other side of the door I met up with a group of girls I had met on the flight that were from Hawaii. We all shared a government taxi into the city. A rather nice Land Cruiser might I add.

Into Vedado, West of Central Havana and Old Havana and a ¨safer¨alternative to both, the girls checked into their Casa Particular. I waited and was met by Javier to be taken to my Casa.

When I arrived I was in some shock. The girls were on the thrid floor of an apartment buidling, I was being put up in the back bedroom of a small mansion. My room contains one queen size bed, one full size bed, and two chairs for a sitting area. The house itself is furnished well with a veranda containing rocking chairs and a table for a very relaxing atmosphere. After dropping my bags Javier gave me a tour of the entire house, including his personal bedroom and his personal sitting area and informed me that this was now my house and I have full use of everything. Rather impressed I showed the girls around
Javier´s Living RoomJavier´s Living RoomJavier´s Living Room

I really wish I knew when this house was built. Either way I enjoyed my time here.
and they agreed the place was pretty large. For 30 CUCs a night though I hope it is.

MORE TO COME THIS INTERNET IS WAY TOO EXPENSIVE. JUST WANT EVERYONE TO KNOW THAT ALL IS WELL FOR THE TIME BEING.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The breakfast spreadThe breakfast spread
The breakfast spread

Fruit, eggs, toast, butter, jam, juice, H2O, and some amazing Cuban cafe
Along the MaleconAlong the Malecon
Along the Malecon

View of Havana along the "Sea Wall"


18th July 2006

So JEALOUS!
Robby...wow! Only wish I was there! Keep having fun and sharing the stories! Much love buddy!
18th July 2006

Vote Republican! :)
Okay, so my title is silly but I had to do it. Tonight is a big Republican Executive Committee event, and I love that you are in Cuba while I am here trying to find a way to satisfy 28 candidates.... THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE PHONE CALL! It was great to hear your voice; I am just sorry I slept through the call. I am glad you made it safely. Please take a lot of pictures!!!! If I was as daring as you, I would go myself. So please take some good photos for me. Tell Fidel that Charlie, Tom and Jeb will not be sending him their regards. I will however, share your amusing plane bought from a garage sale in Slovakia anicdote with Charlie tonight! Delta love and mine, M
20th July 2006

sounds like you're having a blast, you'll enjoy cuba, havana is very beautiful in some parts but sketchy in others. I just got back from panama and found one hell of a surf camp that you have to cross a river to find. Look forward to the next installment.
26th July 2006

Thinking of u ;(
Hi Rob! Glad u having fun. Wish was some other place myself. Get some sleep at night. Try experiencing places during day light and be safe. Looking forward more news from u.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb