The last months.


Advertisement
Published: November 10th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Hey there.

It’s been a while since the last time your heard from me, but honestly, not much happened in the last weeks. I spent so much time at my computer that I tried to get off every minute I could (still writing the thesis).

I made the best out of the situation and still had a good time. End of September I went to Paso Canoas, visiting Panama for 5 min to get a new visa and then went to the beach in Pavones. There was a big swell coming in and with lots of good surfers as it is a perfect left hand break. I’m still not surfing, especially not at this level, but it was amazing to watch. I tried to do some stuff for the thesis at the beach and got distracted way too often. It was not effective, but soo beautiful.

The other day I went hiking with Francisco just outside San José. These mountains are so close and so beautiful. Aldo, Laura, Río and me joined an Urban Rally through the center of San José discovering new corners and beautiful details – there is a piece of the berlin wall in the garden of some museum.

I went to the yoga class three times a week (Paz Yoga with Melania), learned a lot about my body, my mind and the idea behind it. I like it and probably keep it up when my time here comes to its end. The first week of October I got an eye surgery spontaneously because I’ve been wearing contact lenses all the time anyway, they have a good reputation and it cost me a 5th of the price at home. I can see perfectly now.

With Laura, my class mate, her brother and her boyfriend we run the Apache Race, 5 km and 12 obstacles at 8.30 am. Laura told me that Costa Rica is changing and becoming more and more active. A few years ago, there were hardly any sport events and now they have thousands of participants. It was fun, I was just happy that they did not take any times as I was quite hungover from the Halloweenparty the night before. Good organisation by the people of the second Casa Mundo.

Lately we walked to the center and met a guy who just finished an amazing graffiti and starting a new one. There are quarters in San José where it is allowed to paint, to make the world a little bit more beautiful. He was doing an awesome job. We sat down for 3h watching him. Nice surprise J

Every Sunday, Tim, my flatmate and I are going to the agricultural market in Zapote and I’m looking forward to it. Walking there, filling bags with fruits and vegetables, having fried yucca for breakfast and taking the taxi back home. I love the atmosphere there and the food. Enough material to cook something delicious every day and we are becoming more and more creative, even making our own bread! With Tim someone moved in who loves cooking too. The other day we made Döner with Volker, a friend from Hohenheim, who was sitting in nearly every Spanish class with me. It ended in an election party because it was the 8th of November. Unfortunately, it was a really sad end of this party. It’s the 9th of November today and the faces of the people are telling the whole story without a word.

During all this time, Eva was preparing herself to come to Costa Rica. Questions over questions had to be answered (a lot about how much chocolate will fit in her bag 😉) Then the 4th of November was there and I picked her up from the airport. Eight month are a damn long time!! At the 24th our flight to Mexico is leaving and the journey will begin. She met Peter and Bettina on the flight and joined them travelling through Costa Rica until I will hand in my thesis and are free to go. So, fingers crossed that everything is going well. Lots of love, Antonia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement





Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb