Do Not Swim from the Crocodile Beach


Advertisement
Published: January 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Do not swim from the crocodile beach.
Good advice, I think to myself, but the guide continued:
“The next cove is ok, if you hear a whistle get out of the water!”
Okkkkk, my hearing is up tp scratch and it IS boiling hot. So in I walking down the crescent shaped beach bordered by palm trees into the gentle waves and -- I’m still on this planet writing this.
I’d been up very early to take a recommended tour of the beautiful Manuel Antonio Nature Reserve on the south Pacific side and not that far from the Panama border. By very early I do mean 6am meeting at the gates to the park. A group of us walked through the jungle keeping well to the marked trail heeding warnings of poisonous plants and snakes. Every few minutes our guide would halt us and quickly set up his telescopic tripod and we would take turns to gaze down the lens at sloths, monkeys -- if you hear a sound like a jumbo jet coming in to land its a howler monkry-- spiders, tiny leaf frogs. it was brilliant but by 10am the heat was almost unbearable and I was so glad to swim.
The days here begin at first light (people up and about as early as 5am) and I can really understand why, it gets just too hot by late morning and then its resting, doing as little as possible (in my case lying on the beach under umbrella sipping something long and icey and getting into the water every so often to cool down.)
The sun crashes down around 6pm and by 9pm its dead quiet and most people have turned in.
Manuel Antonio is one of the smallest of the national parks of Costa Rica. The entry numbers are restricted but it is a great way to get up close to the raw jungle and a guide is worth every dollar or colones to gain close viewing.
I stayed in a wee hotel along the one road between the park and the nearest town. the hotel called the Blue Monkey set in jungle surroundings but with essential fan in my room, wee pools and good ice cold beer. Right on the bus route to the park and beach with a bit of beach activity, cafes, ice cream etc.
Being me I just HAD to take a boat trip to do some snorkling and thrillingly got close to whale and baby all accompanyed by pina colada (have become local taste expert.)
Sooo, unbelievably I fly home tomorrow, via sister and daughter in England.
Trip has been amazing. See you on the other side of the Atlantic and even more specifically catch up in Cafe Renoir and help me plan my next trip!
Adios amigos, manana!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb