El Cine and Other Activities


Advertisement
Published: February 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

002002002

Here we are at the entrance to the museum.
On top of the adventures we've been having on the weekends, our program director, Rebeca, has been organizing mini-excursions for us during the week.

Our first outing was to the movies. I'll be honest, "Avatar" isn't the kind of movie I usually go to see but I'd been told over and over again that it was a cinematic experience that was not to be missed. So in early January I caught up with the rest of the world and everyone who went to see "Avatar" over Christmas break. The version I saw had Spanish subtitles but I got to wear the 3D glasses just like everyone else so I don't think I missed anything. It wasn´t hard to follow because the actors were speaking English for the majority of the movie, but those of you who've seen it know there are a few spots where the Avatars speak "Na'vi". Naturally the subtitles during these scenes weren't in English. (That wouldn't have done much for the majority of the audience.) So there were times when I had to rely on my Spanish. I surprised myself, though, I understood more than I thought I would. And now I know the Spanish word
222

Here I am dressed as a pirate at the Children's museum.
for "popcorn" (palomitas).

Our second outing was to the National Children's Museum. (Which ironically used to be a prison.) We spent a few hours experiencing simulated earthquakes and blowing bubbles. It's definitely a fun way to practice your Spanish. Most of the vocabulary on the explanatory plaques was relatively simple and it was fun to see the kids running around. Right now they're on their summer vacation so there were quite a few day camp kids making their way through the museum. They made their presence known singing campfire songs at the top of their lungs. It was one of those moments where I couldn't help but think to myself, "huh, kids are just kids." It doesn't matter where they're from. As long as their basic needs are met, they're going to laugh, they're going to yell, and if you let them loose, they're going to run wild.

Our third excursion was to a karaoke bar. We did more singing than anyone else because it was a school night and we got started pretty early, but we did get to hear a few Ticos. It seems to me that they take karaoke much more seriously seriously than their
333

As you can see I've been trying to see the world through different eyes down here.
North American counterparts. While we stumbled through "Baby Got Back", erupting into giggles more than once, they really SANG. The pictures I have included will serve as documentation of my rendition of Whitney Houston for all of posterity.

Last night was our most recent outing. We went to the movies again, only this time we went in style. The mall in Cartago has a "VIP" movie theater complete with reclining leather chairs and waiters who offer you a full menu with appetizers and drinks. We saw "Sherlock Holmes." I liked the movie, but I liked the movie theater better, especially when I realized I was paying less than what I would pay to see a movie in a regular theater in the states.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

3030
30

I want to dance with somebody.
3131
31

...with somebody who loves me!
004004
004

And now I'm a Christian missionary trying to covert a pig.


5th February 2010

Fun Pics!
Carita, you look like you're livin' it up in Costa Rica! What fun... thanks for sharing. Keep posting ;) I love you- Mom
5th February 2010

HAAHHAHABAHAAHAHAH
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA "As you can see I've been trying to see the world through different eyes down here" HAHAAHAHAHAHAH I bet you thought that was really funny. I did. Did you like avatar? I HATED IT. Love youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb