Early morning flight, no sleep, what else is new?


Advertisement
Published: March 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

DC - San Jose

Leaving on a jet plane

Stillman in awful pain underwaterStillman in awful pain underwaterStillman in awful pain underwater

Ok, he wasn't in pain, but we were testing my new camera...H2O-proof!

Washington DC to San Jose, via Miami



Morning travel is not fun

Needless to say, I got nary a wink on the day before my travel, so I was already irritable, but when I settled into my seat on the plane, I noticed no fewer than 5 young kids surrounding me. Today was not to be my day. We had a rather peaceful flight for all of 5 minutes before babies #1 and 2 began wailing. Oh wait, I shouldn't say "flight" because we hadn't even pulled back from the gate yet. Lovely.

While flying into Miami, all was well. Water in view? Check. Canals in view? check. Glide path smoothly descending? Check. Wheels touching down as expected? Um, not check? Yep, we were advised that while things were always in control, something in the approach for landing had given the flight crew reason to second guess their trajectory. Throttle up, go around again. Now....wheels touching down as expected? Check.

Now, on the flight from Miami to San Jose, things were smooth, unless we are talking about the runway approach. Landing between two mountain peaks in a valley seems to create some interesting wind patterns, and boy
Flight infoFlight infoFlight info

Lovely, crinkled up flight receipts.
was that evident. I rather liked the excitement of dipping the wings as if saying hi to the folks on the ground, like at an air show. I liked even more the fact that we had arrived no less than 20 minutes early, and it was now game time!


Language familiarization

Ah yes, the question that had been rumbling in my mind for a month now. Would my handy dandy Spanish language training/education come back from the depths of my brain, or would I be left helpless. let's just say that what happened wasn't all that unanticipated. As I feverishly wisked through the pages of my Costa Rican Spanish phrasebook, thoughts of my Hungarian language knowledge, or lack thereof according to some folks, came to pass. I found when I was reading the text, I had full recall and understanding...yay! However, putting this to practice was a bit more difficult. As text floated through my brain, I found that I was constantly having to remember if it was Hungarian or Spanish that I wanted to speak. Believe me I got more than a few strange looks when a random Hungarian phrase would come out as I asked
Room with a viewRoom with a viewRoom with a view

Pool is in sight in lower left corner....this hotel is an old coffee plantation.
for another drink at lunch. Elnezest(Hungarian), yo quiero una otra bebida(Spanish), legy szives(Hungarian). Assuredly, I pressed on and by dinnertime, my languages while still battling, had agreed to settle their differences another time. In a few days, there should be no problems, I hope. I'm sure no one in the countryside speaks Hungarian.


Dinner Tico style

I am trying to post a photo, so I hope it's visible. Meat? Check. Potato? Check. Naranja Natural? Uh, what in the world is that? Mi hermano(my brother Dan) ordered up, and I was pleasantly surprised. Fresh fruit squeezed and juiced and mixed with ice and water.....yep, that hit the spot. It's quite the traditional drink as far as I can tell, oh yeah and naranja = orange for those still paying attention.

Jacuzzi ending to Day 1

More photos....relaxing in the jacuzzi. Good times discussing the next day's plans for our trek to a volcano called Arenal. We'll see what the reality is like, however what I have read, and been told sounds absolutely amazing. A live volcano, with active lava flows, providing natural hot mineral springs. This definitely brings back awesome memories of my times in Hungary
Hotel room viewHotel room viewHotel room view

Decent...a bit like San Diego.
and in the Szechenyi Furdohaz and Tiszaliget(well Hungary doesn't have a volcano 😊 ). I hope to get back there soon, but until then, I am ready for a new adventure! Stay tuned.....

PS BMB, no rum and coke machines yet....but guaro is awesome.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Woo hoo the gang's all here!Woo hoo the gang's all here!
Woo hoo the gang's all here!

The adventure starts now.
First night's dinnerFirst night's dinner
First night's dinner

I was really looking forward to this, and it fulfilled my every wish.
Mom and daughterMom and daughter
Mom and daughter

How nice....the water was perfect!
Bros....doing hard timeBros....doing hard time
Bros....doing hard time

Can my head get any rounder?
Mommy, can I jump??Mommy, can I jump??
Mommy, can I jump??

I love water....
We are #1We are #1
We are #1

Yes we are.


Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.129s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb