2nd day in training


Advertisement
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

August 19, 2008

Okay I didn’t get a chance to write yesterday, I didn’t think it would matter too much since I still haven’t really gotten on the net. Hopefully tomorrow morning! Yesterday’s training went really well; the 1st person I met was Danny from Illinois, amazing how someone who speaks fluent English can make things so much easier!! I hate it that I don’t know Spanish that well; I know, give it time and I’ll get it. The next person I met was the only other person in our training session that is not Costa Rican; Ian is from Romania, he seems pretty interesting. There are 11 of us all together; most are from here, but I’m glad to meet new people. The training is going pretty well, Lilly and Silva (who is from China) are teaching us and they seem really nice.
After training was when my 1st adventure in Costa Rica started! Priscilla walked me to the bus and told the driver where I needed to get off. It cost me 230 Colones, which is about 50 cents. I was sitting behind the driver and there was a map so I could kind of see where I was going, there are just so many stops, and I’m not yet familiar with my surroundings to pick it out from anything else. Oh, did I mention that it was pouring down rain? Well it was POURING! The driver told me where to get off and pointed me in a direction, so I started walking and looking up and down the streets to see if I could find where I live. Finally I had walked so far down that I recognized a restaurant we had driven by before and I concluded that I was going in the wrong direction. Sabrina had written a map for me, but it was a little confusing, but the restaurant was on it so I could kind of get of my bearings, so after all that walking I had to do it all again, I passed a lot of people on the streets, but I even if I knew Spanish, I wouldn’t know how to ask for directions. There are no street signs and no addresses on the buildings, I have absolutely no idea how people find their way around here. Finally I found the right street and the right house. I was so glad to be home and tear off ALL of my wet clothes and hop in the shower. When I was wondering around in the rain, it really amazed me how calm I was. I knew I was in the vicinity so I figured that I’d find it eventually. I thought to myself, would I rather be lost in the rain in Costa Rica, or at my desk at a job in America, and I decided that I would rather be slightly cold and soaking wet in a foreign country where I don’t speak the language. That really made me feel calmer! I also finally talked to my parents last night, I’m sure the half hour call will cost me a fortune, but it was soooo worth it!
Okay, so that was my adventures for yesterday, today was a whole lot calmer, not to mention dryer! Training was fine, I’m learning a lot and I like everyone in my class. I asked Priscilla if she would help me with the bus again, I wasn’t worried about finding the right one this time, I just needed the help from the driver to get me off the right stop. I noticed it was raining again, but it seemed lighter. Priscilla walked me downstairs and Sabrina was there, she said she would take me home since she had to pick up some papers for her class, so that was great. And of course it stopped raining! Tomorrow my class doesn’t start until 10:30, so I should have some time to kill; hopefully I will be able to get on the internet. I guess that’s all for today! Don’t worry about me, I’m having a good time, learning all I can and meeting lots of great people! I miss everyone! Hugs!
PS E&C I’m listening to Fever Dream right now! I miss you!


Advertisement



20th August 2008

Glad all is going well
Amy, It was good to talk to you and hear that all is going well. Keep up the good work and continue to make your detailed entries so that we can all find out what is going on in Costa Rica. Can you post pictures too? Rich
26th August 2008

I've been reading your blog. Very interesting!! Take care of yourself. We will miss you at Andy's in September. Joe

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb