Back to San Jose: Final Thoughts


Advertisement
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Costa Rica001Costa Rica001Costa Rica001

The last picture I took in Costa Rica. The guys and Empe.
After a relaxing few days (except for the surfing, of course), it was time to head back to San Jose for one last night out with the group before we all part ways. We ate at a wonderful Thai restaurant that had wonderful infused teas. To eat I had curry in a hallowed-out pineapple, and it was very good!

As we walked back to the hotel that last night, I took time to soak in the Costa Rican lifestyle. The Costa Ricans have a saying they are proud of: "Pura Vida." This translates to "Pure Life," the idea that life is yours to enjoy. It's a kind of "Don't Worry, Be Happy" sort of lifestyle where even when life hands you lemons, you make lemonade. You hear this phrase from everyone, not just tourist guides or hotels. It's common to say it instead of saying "adios" or "de nada" or "mucho gusto." Everyone, from cab drivers to waiters, reminds you of this idea.

After over a week in Costa Rica, I finally understood what "Pura Vida" meant. I stopped worrying about "the schedule," or the fact that breakfast takes almost an hour. I now have no problems stopping what I'm doing, and just enjoying the company I'm with, and the moment that I'm in, and the fact that I'm alive. The Costa Rican culture (as is Latin culture in general) is vibrant, exciting, and friendly. I'll never forget the fun of being at a local dance club and watching couples salsa dance. I'll never forget the spark in the eye of our whitewater rafting guide as he gleefully told us (shouting over his Bob Marley music) how much he loves his job, and his country, and would want to be no where else. I'll never forget the excitement of the Monteverde guide, although he's been in the same forest for 15 years, as he sees a hummingbird nest, or a snake, or a unique flower. And finally, I'll never forget Empe, our GAP guide, as she admitted that although the country has its struggles, she cherishes every moment through the people she meets and the things that she sees.

Will I go back to Costa Rica? Who knows. There's a whole big wide world out there I need to see first. However, I will always keep the "Pura Vida" lifestyle with me no matter where I go in this life. Life is too short not to...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb