Day trip to San Jose


Advertisement
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

welcome to San Joséwelcome to San Joséwelcome to San José

from a pedestrian bridge. This is about as big as the city gets.
I don't have classes on Wednesdays, so I went to see a bit of the city. This was my first time in San José since my flight to Costa Rica in the beginning of January, so everything was very new for me. As much as I try to hold myself back from having expectations before I visit a place, but I can't help admitting that San José was actually smaller than I thought! In my mind the capital of this country was to be a sprawling metropolis like our Big Apple or the Windy City--but San José was all of the run-down-ness of a city, and none of the glamor, plus half the size. I made for the large city park, with dreams of St. Louis' Forest Park, and found something not all-together terrible, but certainly nothing to make me want to go back. All in all, I'm glad a spent a little time there, and I look forward to going back to give it a more in-depth look.

On a side note: Please know that I am aware how behind I am on my blogs. I have had the two most Amazing trips with my Mum, and then with
slightly steamy bus stopslightly steamy bus stopslightly steamy bus stop

I guess it's not too uncommon, but it surprised me a bit as I waited for the bus!
Katie in the past three weeks, and as soon as I catch up on my life here, I'll blog it up for you all!

Much love from Costa Rica!
Benjamin


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

New York isn't the only place...New York isn't the only place...
New York isn't the only place...

Not the best part of the city.
El Parque Municipal La SabanaEl Parque Municipal La Sabana
El Parque Municipal La Sabana

This place is the closest thing to Forest Park (St. Louis) that I could find. It's not quite the same feel; there's a bit less of the "midwestern friendliness" and a bit more of "I'm going to get mugged here" feel, but it was nice nonetheless.
a bit of green in the midst of steela bit of green in the midst of steel
a bit of green in the midst of steel

To be fair, most of the tress were...alive, and I welcomed their shade and shelter from the city muck.
I ate lunch hereI ate lunch here
I ate lunch here

out on the mini peninsula. PBJs.
obviamenteobviamente
obviamente

What would a public park in Central America be without futbol feilds? La Sabana also houses El Estadio Nacional, where throngs of Ticos attend the riotous national matches.
A little dated...A little dated...
A little dated...

Just wanted to show you all the playground.
the search for identitythe search for identity
the search for identity

This is a painting from the Museum of Costa Rican Art. The theme here is very common for Costa Rica and most of Centroamérica; many people struggle to find a balance between the life of the progressing world and the life of their ancestral roots.
The portrait of Costa RicaThe portrait of Costa Rica
The portrait of Costa Rica

If you find a better summation of Costa Rican Values, let me know.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb