Paradise Found


Advertisement
Published: September 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Forgive the title, bibliophiles. I couldn't pass up the opportunity to turn a pun, in context or not. If you've been following, I'm out on the west coast, in Montezuma. It's on the Nicoyan Penninsula. So dust off your globes, and take a peek. What else can I say except the cliché "I'm in paradise" line. It's amazing. The trip her was a little arduous. After some taxi issues - Thank you Eggo - I eventually arrived here from San Jose, sans money and pride. It's a small town, with about 20 restuarants, shops etc. One of its claims to fame is that Joaquin Phoenix and the rest of the Phoenixes lived here for some time. However, the ambience, scenery and wildlife is what I am in love with.

So - I'm currently taking two classes at this resort - www.laescueladesol.com - Since it is the off season, I am the only student in both of my classes, which is amazing. All the private instruction and help I coud need. If you're reading this, thanks to Dan Yucha for the suggestion, I'm loving it.

In the morning I wake up and I have about 3 hours of surfing in some of Costa Rica's most renowned beaches. It's a thirty minute walk from here to Playa Grande, which is full of iguanas, geckos, anoles... and monkeys. I also walk by an ancient mesoamerican oven in which the tribe here - The Moctezumans - made food, with metates - Salvo, if you're reading that was a quechua word we had to memorize. Today I went to Playa Hermosa which was a much more challenging beach. It was great though and I can't believe I can already stand up, steer and ride most waves. The hardest part is paddling out. My teacher is all like, "you have to let each wave talk to you a little bit, and then little by little, you will understand the ocean, and when you are ready, you can talk to it."

In the afternoon, I have Spanish class for about 3.5 hours. I'm so happy I have it alone, so I can work on all the little things I'm doing wrong. However, after my month in San Jose, and my time here, I can say that I'm pretty fluent. I also beat my Spanish teacher Monday in Spanish scrabble. So you tell me.

Yesterday morning, I went on a hike to the famous waterfall here. I'll translate the sign for you. "Many people have died here. No climbing or jumping." I did both... sorry mom. It was poweful and aweinspiring.

Tonight, I just had one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I watched a turtle return to the ocean after laying eggs on the beach. It was beautiful. There's a turtle hatchery on the beach here that collects the eggs and incubates them, so poachers can't. Apparently they still practice the misnomer of turtle egg virility. Unfortunately, you can't take pictures of the event, but I'll never forget it.

Welp, I'm going to go into town and have a few drinks. Buenas Noches.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb